Nov. 8, 2010

NCAA Release

Click here for the bracket! Get Acrobat Reader

INDIANAPOLIS - The NCAA Division III Field Hockey Committee has announced today the field of 24 teams that will compete in the 2010 NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship.

Sixteen teams will compete in eight first-round games Wednesday, November 10. The eight first-round winners, along with the eight teams that received a first-round bye, will compete at four campus sites during second/third-round play, Saturday and Sunday, November 13 and 14.

The winners of the four sites will advance to the semifinals and finals Saturday and Sunday, November 20 and 21, at Captain's Field on the campus of Christopher Newport University in Newport News, Virginia. Semifinals will be played at 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, November 20, with the championship game being played at 1 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, November 21. Championship Information, including information about tickets, is available at

Sixteen conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for their champions into the 2010 championship. Two teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. Finally, six berths were reserved for Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champions and the remaining teams from Pool B.

The 16 conferences and schools receiving automatic qualification are:

Capital Athletic ConferenceUniversity of Mary Washington
Centennial ConferenceUrsinus College
Colonial States Athletic ConferenceCabrini College
Commonwealth ConferenceMessiah College
Commonwealth Coast ConferenceUniversity of New England
Empire 8Stevens Institute of Technology
Freedom ConferenceEastern University
LandmarkJuniata College
Liberty LeagueSkidmore College
Little East ConferenceUniversity of Massachusetts, Dartmouth
New England Small College Athletic ConferenceBowdoin College
New England Women's and Men's Athletics ConferenceBabson College
New Jersey Athletic ConferenceThe College of New Jersey
North Atlantic ConferenceHusson University
North Coast Athletic ConferenceCollege of Wooster
Old Dominion Athletic ConferenceLynchburg College

The two Pool B teams are:

Rhodes College
State University College at Geneseo

The six Pool C teams are:

State University College at Cortland
Christopher Newport University
Lebanon Valley College
Middlebury College
Salisbury University
Tufts University

The Messiah College Falcons will look to return to the finals of this year's championship in pursuit of their first NCAA field hockey championship title, after falling in last year's championship game against the Salisbury University Sea Gulls. Previous champions in this year's tournament include the College of New Jersey (1981, 1983, 1985, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1995, 1996, 1999), Salisbury University (1986, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2009) State University of New York at Cortland (1993, 1994, 2001), Bowdoin (2007, 2008), Middlebury College (1998), and Ursinus College (2006).

Two schools will make history this year with their first appearance in the NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship: Rhodes College and State University College at Geneseo. Salisbury is making its 17th consecutive championship appearance, the longest active streak in Division III field hockey.

The dates, sites and pairings are listed on the complete championship bracket, which is attached. For more information about the championship, log on to