Nov. 9, 2010

NCAA Release

PDF Bracket | Interactive Bracket

The NCAA Division I Field Hockey Committee announced today the field of 16 teams for the 2010 NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship. Five conferences were awarded automatic qualification. In addition, six conferences competed for three play-in berths and the remaining eight teams were selected at large.

The following conferences and their representatives received automatic qualification:

Atlantic Coast Conference University of Maryland, College Park
Big East Conference Syracuse University
Big Ten Conference University of Michigan
Colonial Athletic Association Old Dominion University
Ivy Group Princeton University

The teams winning the play-in berths were the University at Albany from the America East Conference, American University from the Patriot League and Stanford University from the Northern Pacific Field Hockey Conference.

The remaining eight teams that were selected at large are as follows: University of Connecticut, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Michigan State University, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, The Ohio State University, Pennsylvania State University, University of Virginia and Wake Forest University.

The first- and second-round games will be played on four campus sites November 13-14. The University of Maryland will host the semifinals and final on Friday, November 19, and Sunday, November 21, at the Field Hockey & Lacrosse Complex in College Park, Maryland. The semifinals and finals will be streamed live on For ticket information, please call 301/314-7070.

In 2009, North Carolina claimed its sixth NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship title with a 3-2 victory over Maryland at Kentner Stadium in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.