ATHENS, Ohio -- Brooke Edwards scored the game-winning goal as Ohio won its sixth Mid-American Conference Tournament Championship, and fourth since 2006, with a 2-1 overtime victory against defending champion Kent State on Saturday at Pruitt Field.

Edwards scored her ninth goal of the season when Cathryn Altdoerffer released her on a breakaway opportunity and she converted in the 74th minute of play to give the Bobcats the hard fought victory.

Other Conference Championship Games
Atlantic 10 Richmond 1, Temple 0
Northeast Rider 2, Monmouth 0
Northern Pacific California 1, Stanford 0
Conference Championship Central

Altdoerffer, defender Jenna Green and goalkeeper Jen McGill were all named to the MAC All-Tournament team while junior Andrea Biegalski was named the 2011 MAC Tournament Most Valuable Player. 

Ohio registered the first shot of the game in the 10th minute when Biegalski went wide of goal. However, Kent State would be the first team on the scoreboard when Carla Johl scored her sixth goal of the season off a corner. Julia Hofmann was credited with the assist at 23:48.

The very next offensive chance for either team resulted in Taylor Brown tying the game with her team-leading 13th goal of the season. She took a pass from Altdoerffer and lifted a shot over the KSU goalkeeper to knot the score at 29:32.

In the second half, McGill made two big saves on Rebecca Lee and Debbie Bell to keep the game deadlocked. At the other end of the field, Jessica Jue had two point-blank tries on goal before Ohio was awarded a penalty corner. Off the ensuing situation, Biegalski was stoned yet again by KSU goalkeeper Jahna Jordan.

In the 60th minute, Brown went wide of goal and two minutes later, McGill made another key save on Lee to preserve the tie. Marissa Higgins had a crack at scoring the game-winner, but Jordan came up big again with three minutes left in regulation.