What began as a makeshift demonstration at Harvard in the summer of 1901, grew into Constance Applebee's life-long passion and the birth of field hockey in the U.S. Applebee's drive and energy permeated the sport for eight decades and helped players and coaches push for recognition on the collegiate, national and international playing fields.

1901 Constance Applebee came to the U.S. from England to take a summer session at Harvard, where a chance discussion during a game of musical chairs led to a demonstration of field hockey for her classmates. It soon caught on at the Seven Sister Schools.
1901 Applebee co-founded the American Field Hockey Association (AFHA) with Senda Berenson (P.E. Director at Smith) and Lucille Eaton Hill (P.E. Director at Wellesley).
1901-03 Athletic Directors from Vassar, Smith, Wellesley, Mt. Holyoke, Radcliffe and Bryn Mawr asked Applebee to start women's teams in their athletic departments. She carried the equipment from school to school until the sport took off.
1904 Applebee became athletic director at Bryn Mawr. During her time there she founded the school's Dept. of Health and introduced water polo, track, tennis, swimming, fencing, badminton and archery. She was also the first faculty adviser for the college newspaper.
1904 The club system in the northeast was well established, with Philadelphia and Boston leading the way with the top teams in the nation. 
1907 A Philadelphia league was formed and the event of the year was a contest between Bryn Mawr and the league's best team. Field hockey spread to New York, Detroit, Chicago, Baltimore, Richmond and Los Angeles.
1920 Applebee decided that the All-Philadephia Team was skilled enough to match up against English teams. On October 21, 1920 the team traveled to England where they went 2-8.
1922 United States Field Hockey Association was formed, replacing the AFHA. Helen Krumbhaar was the first president of the USFHA and Cynthia Wesson was the vice-president. In 1926, Wesson took over the role of president.
1923 Applebee started a field hockey camp in Mt. Pocono, Pa. The camp was 80 percent field hockey and 20 percent lacrosse. The enrollment went from 300 players to more than a 1,000.
1924 Applebee founded The Sportswoman, which was initially devoted to field hockey news, but as the sport grew the magazine began focusing on all women’s sports.
1929 Applebee resigned from her official position at Bryn Mawr, but still returned every fall to coach the varsity field hockey team until the 1960s.
1931 The U.S. Women’s Lacrosse Association was founded at Applebee’s field hockey camp. Joyce Cran Barry was named the first president of the organization.
1937 The Sportswoman was discontinued, as The Eagle was founded, which was produced by the USFHA and focused on field hockey instead of all women’s sports.
1937 The first official umpires began refereeing games. Prior to this, the teams’ coaches would each have to referee one half of the game.
1940 Through Applebee’s urging, American field hockey teams raised money to send three ambulances to England to help out during World War II.
1959 The national tournament was held in Washington D.C. with honorary appearances from Applebee and then-Vice President Richard Nixon, who opened the tournament.
1963 The USFHA hosted the International Federation of Women’s Hockey Association (IFWHA) Conference and it was the first time in U.S. history that an amateur women’s sports organization attempted to raise more than $150,000. The organization succeeded in raising $185,000.
1970 The U.S. defeated England for the first time since field hockey’s inception in 1901. The national team came back from a 0-1 deficit to win 2-1.
1971 Field hockey teams at the college level decided to join the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) in order to have national tournaments and championships.
1975 The USFHA and AIAW cohosted the first national championship for Division I field hockey. West Chester defeated Ursinus 2-1 to claim the first national crown.
1979 The AIAW organized Division II and Division III championships. Southwest Missouri State shutout Colgate 2-0 to win the DII title, while Shippensburg beat Franklin & Marshall 1-0 in DIII.
1981 After Title IX was passed, the NCAA accepted field hockey as an official sport. The first championship was won by Connecticut, which beat Massachusetts 4-1.
1981 On Jan. 26, 1981, just a few months before the first NCAA championship was to be played, Constance Applebee passed away at the age of 107 at her home in Burley, England.