fieldhockey-d3 flag | November 14, 2013

Montclair State selected as top seed for 2013 DIII Field Hockey Championship

Interactive Bracket Printable Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Field Hockey Committee announced Sunday the field of 24 teams that will compete in the 2013 NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship.

Sixteen teams will compete in eight first-round games on campus sites Wednesday. The eight first-round winners, along with the eight teams that received a first-round bye, will compete at four campus sites during second/third-round play, Saturday and Sunday. 

The winners of the four sites will advance to the semifinals on Nov. 22, which will be hosted by Virginia Wesleyan University at the USA Field Hockey National Training Center in Virginia Beach, Va. The winners of the semifinals will advance to the final on Nov. 24, at L.R. Hill Sports Complex on the campus of Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Va.  The semifinals will be played at 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. ET, with the championship game being played at 10:30 a.m.

Eighteen conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for their champions into the 2013 championship. One team was selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. Finally, five berths were reserved for Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champions and the remaining teams from Pool B.

The 18 conferences and schools receiving automatic qualification are:

Capital Athletic Conference -- Salisbury
Centennial Conference -- Ursinus
Colonial States Athletic Conference -- Gwynedd Mercy
Commonwealth Conference -- Messiah
Commonwealth Coast Conference -- Gordon
Empire 8 -- Utica
Freedom Conference -- Wilkes
Landmark -- Catholic
Liberty League -- Skidmore
Little East Conference -- Keene State
New England Collegiate Conference -- Anna Maria
New England Small College Athletic Conference -- Middlebury
New England Women’s and Men’s Athletics Conference -- Wellesley
New Jersey Athletic Conference -- Montclair State
North Atlantic Conference -- Castleton
North Coast Athletic Conference -- DePauw
Old Dominion Athletic Conference -- Lynchburg
State University of New York Athletic Conference -- New Paltz State

The one Pool B team is Centre.

The five Pool C teams are Bowdoin, Christopher Newport, Mount Holyoke, Tufts and William Smith.



5 reasons why Erin Matson is a perfect fit to be the UNC field hockey coach

Here is why Erin Matson, just a year removed from her playing career, is primed to take over at North Carolina for the legendary Karen Shelton.

Erin Matson named North Carolina's head field hockey coach

Erin Matson was named North Carolina's next head field hockey coach after Karen Shelton announced her retirement after 42 years at the helm.

Teams announced for 2022 NCAA Division II field hockey championship

East Stroudsburg lands the top seed in the 2022 DII field hockey championship field. See the full bracket here.