fieldhockey-d3 flag | November 7, 2016

DIII Field Hockey Committee selects championship bracket

INDIANAPOLIS-- The NCAA Division III Field Hockey Committee announced on Sunday the field of 24 teams that will compete in the 2016 NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship.

Sixteen teams will compete in eight first-round games on campus sites Wednesday, Nov. 9. The eight first-round winners, along with the eight teams that received a first-round bye, will compete at four campus sites during second/third-round play, Saturday and Sunday, Nov. 12 and 13. 

The winners of the four sites will advance to the semifinals and final, Saturday and Sunday, Nov. 19 and 20, at McCooey Field on the campus of William Smith College in Geneva, New York. Semifinals will be played at 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, November 19, with the championship game being played at 1 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, Nov. 20.  Championship information, including information about tickets, is available at here.

RELATED: 2016 bracket

Eighteen conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for their champions into the 2016 championship. One team was selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. Finally, five berths were reserved for Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champions and the remaining teams from Pool B.

The 18 conferences and schools receiving automatic qualification are:

Capital Athletic Salisbury
Centennial Ursinus
Colonial States Athletic Cabrini College
Commonwealth Coast New England
Empire 8 St. John Fisher
Great Northeast Athletic St. Joseph's (Maine)
Landmark Elizabethtown
Liberty League Skidmore 
Little East Keene State
Middle Atlantic Commonwealth Messiah
Middle Atlantic Freedom King's (Pennsylvania)
New England Small College Athletic Tufts
New England Women's and Men's Athletics Babson
New Jersey Athletic The College of New Jersey
North Atlantic Maine, Farmington
North Coast Athletic Kenyon
Old Dominion Athletic Shenandoah
State University of New York Athletic State University of New York at Geneseo

The one Pool B team is:

  • Rhodes College


The five Pool C teams are:

  • Franklin & Marshall College
  • Middlebury College
  • Montclair State University
  • University of Rochester
  • Trinity College (Connecticut)


The dates, sites and pairings are listed on the complete championship bracket.  For more information about the championship, log on to

In 2015, Middlebury College avenged two regular-season losses by defeating Bowdoin College 1-0 at Turf Field at Washington and Lee University. It was Middlebury’s second national title, the last one occurring in 1998.