fieldhockey-d3 flag | November 5, 2017

DIII field hockey championship bracket announced

  Messiah was one of 24 schools to qualify for the DIII field hockey championship bracket.

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Field Hockey Committee announced today the field of 24 teams that will compete in the 2017 NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship.

Sixteen teams will compete in eight first-round games on campus sites Wednesday, November 8. The eight first-round winners, along with the eight teams that received a first-round bye, will compete at four campus sites during second/third-round play, Saturday and Sunday, November 11 and 12.

Interactive bracket | Printable bracket

The winners of the four sites will advance to the semifinals Friday, November 17, which will be hosted by Bellarmine University at Owsley B. Frazier Stadium in Louisville, Kentucky. The winners of the semifinals will advance to the final on Sunday, November 19, at Trager Stadium on the campus of the University of Louisville. Semifinals will be played at 4 p.m. and 7 p.m. Eastern time, Friday, November 17, with the championship game being played at 5 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, November 19. Championship information, including information about tickets, is available here.

Eighteen conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for their champions into the 2017 championship. One team was selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. Finally, five berths were reserved for Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champions and the remaining teams from Pool B.

The 18 conferences and schools receiving automatic qualification are:

Automatic Qualifiers  
Conference School
Capital Athletic Conference Christopher Newport University
Centennial Conference Franklin & Marshall College
Colonial States Athletic Conference Gwynedd Mercy University
Commonwealth Coast Conference University of New England
Empire 8 Washington and Jefferson College
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Saint Joseph's College (Maine)
Landmark Juniata College
Liberty League University of Rochester
Little East Conference Keene State College
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Messiah College
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Misericordia University
New England Small College Athletic Conference Middlebury College
New England Women's and Men's Athletics Conference Massachusetts Institute of Technology
New Jersey Athletic Conference The College of New Jersey
North Atlantic Conference Husson University
North Coast Athletic Conference Denison University
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Washington and Lee University
State University of New York Athletic Conference State University of New York at Cortland

The one Pool B team is:

Centre College

The five Pool C teams are:

Babson College
Kean University
Montclair State University
Salisbury University
Trinity College (Connecticut)

In 2016, Messiah College defeated Tufts University 1-0 at McCooey Field at William Smith College. It was Messiah’s first national title.