fieldhockey-d1 flag | November 4, 2018

College field hockey: DI championship bracket released for 2018; North Carolina is No. 1 seed

DI Field Hockey: 2018 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Field Hockey Committee announced today the teams that will compete in the 2018 NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship. Ten conferences were awarded automatic-qualification. The four lowest automatic-qualification teams will compete in two opening round games. The remaining six automatic-qualification teams were placed in the bracket.

RELATED: View the 2018 interactive bracket | 2018 champ info | Buy NCAA champ tickets

The following conferences and their representatives received automatic qualification:

America East Conference  Albany (NY)
Atlantic Coast Conference North Carolina
Atlantic 10 Conference Saint Joseph's 
Big East Conference UConn
Big Ten Conference Maryland
Colonial Athletic Association William & Mary
The Ivy League Harvard
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Monmouth
Mid-American Conference  Miami (OH)
Patriot League Boston U.

The remaining eight teams that were selected at-large are as follows: Duke, Iowa, Michigan, Penn State, Princeton, Rutgers, Virginia, and Wake Forest.

Opening round games will be played on two campus sites Nov. 7.  First- and second-round games will be played on four campus sites Nov. 9 and 11. Louisville will host the semifinals and final Friday, Nov. 16, and Sunday, Nov. 18, at Trager Stadium in Louisville, Kentucky.  The semifinals and final will be streamed live on  For ticket information, call 502-GOCARDS or visit

In 2017, UConn finished the season undefeated (23-0) while claiming its fifth NCAA Division I field hockey championship.

MORE: Latest Division I field hockey news | Championship history

North Carolina beats Maryland for 2018 DI field hockey national championship

The perfect ending to the perfect season: North Carolina defeated Maryland 2-0 Sunday to win its first national championship since 2009.

College field hockey: No. 20 Wake Forest upsets No. 3 Duke in ACC semifinals

No. 20 Wake Forest field hockey (11-8) topped No. 3 Duke, 4-3 on Friday in the semifinals of the ACC Championships. Senior Jule Grashoff notched the game-winner in dramatic fashion for her 20th goal of the season. The Deacons advance to face top-ranked North Carolina on Sunday at 1 p.m., at Karen Shelton Stadium.

College field hockey: Vermont tops No. 15 Maine for the first time since 2007 in 3-0 shut out

Pleun Haantjes scored in the 15th minute and the Vermont Catamounts (8-9, 4-3 AE) never looked back, taking a 3-0 win over the 15th-ranked Maine Black Bears (13-4, 4-3 AE) Friday afternoon in Orono.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners