fieldhockey-d2 flag

Wayne Staats | | December 1, 2018

Shippensburg defeats East Stroudsburg for third consecutive DII field hockey championship

Shippensburg wins DII field hockey national championship

The dynasty continued at the 2018 NCAA DII field hockey championship from the Arthur J. Rooney Athletic Field in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. For the third year in a row, Shippensburg is the national champion.

MORE: Interactive bracket | Printable bracket | Scoreboard

Final: Shippensburg 1, East Stroudsburg 0 (OT)

The all-PSAC final was dominated by impressive defenses that limited scoring chances and shots most of the game.

In the fourth meeting between the two teams this season, Emily Stauffer scored the championship-winning goal quickly at the start of overtime, with Adrienne Mcgarrigle providing the assist.

MORE: Most DII field hockey titlesDII festival schedule, news, and updates

Follow below for a full recap of Saturday's championship game:


2018 Shippensburg (18-4) Tara Zollinger 1-0 (ot) East Stroudsburg Pittsburgh
2017 Shippensburg (17-4) Tara Zollinger 4-1 LIU Post Louisville
2016 Shippensburg (20-3) Bertie Landes 2-1 LIU Post Stonehill
2015 East Stroudsburg (18-3) Sandy Miller 1-0 Merrimack Bloomsburg
2014 Millersville (20-3) Shelly Behrens 1-0 LIU Post Louisville
2013 Shippensburg (20-1) Bertie Landes 2-1 (ot) LIU Post Old Dominion
2012 West Chester (20-2) Amy Cohen 5-0 Mass-Lowell Mass-Lowell
2011 West Chester (17-4) Amy Cohen 2-1 Mass-Lowell Bloomsburg
2010 Mass-Lowell (24-0) Shannon Hlebichuk 1-0 Shippensburg Bellarmine
2009 Bloomsburg (22-1) Jan Hutchinson 3-2 Mass-Lowell Stonehill
2008 Bloomsburg (23-1) Jan Hutchinson 6-2 Mass-Lowell Bloomsburg
2007 Bloomsburg (21-4) Jan Hutchinson 5-2 Mass-Lowell Mass-Lowell
2006 Bloomsburg (24-0) Jan Hutchinson 1-0 Bentley Pensacola, Fla.
2005 Mass-Lowell (20-3) Shannon Hlebichuk 2-1 (2ot)* Bloomsburg Shippensburg
2004 Bloomsburg (21-3) Jan Hutchinson 3-2 (ot) Bentley Mass-Lowell
2003 Bloomsburg (22-2) Jan Hutchinson 4-1 Mass-Lowell Mass-Lowell
2002 Bloomsburg (21-0) Jan Hutchinson 5-0 Bentley Lock Haven
2001 Bentley (22-1) Kelly McGowan 4-2 East Stroudsburg Bentley
2000 Lock Haven (21-2) Pat Rudy 2-0 Bentley Lock Haven
1999 Bloomsburg (19-0) Jan Hutchinson 2-0 Bentley Bloomsburg
1998 Bloomsburg (21-1) Jan Hutchinson 4-3 (ot) Lock Haven Lock Haven
1997 Bloomsburg (20-3) Jan Hutchinson 2-0 Kutztown Bloomsburg
1996 Bloomsburg (19-2) Jan Hutchinson 1-0 Lock Haven Lock Haven
1995 Lock Haven (20-0) Sharon Taylor 1-0 Bloomsburg Lock Haven
1994 Lock Haven (18-2) Sharon Taylor 2-1 Bloomsburg Lock Haven
1993 Bloomsburg (16-2-1) Jan Hutchinson 2-1 (2ot)* Lock Haven Bloomsburg
1992 Lock Haven (15-5-1) Sharon Taylor 3-1 Bloomsburg Lock Haven
1983 Bloomsburg (16-2-1) Jan Hutchinson 1-0 Lock Haven Lock Haven
1982 Lock Haven (16-1) Sharon Taylor 4-1 Bloomsburg Bloomsburg
1981 Pfeiffer (9-4) Ellen Briggs 5-3 Bentley Pfeiffer

DII field hockey programs with the most NCAA DII national championships

Here’s a look at the programs with the most DII field hockey national championships.

Shippensburg vs. East Stroudsburg: How to watch, preview of the 2018 DII field hockey championship rematch

PSAC rivals East Stroudsburg and Shippensburg meet for the first time since the 2018 DII field hockey national championship. Here's what you should know and how you can watch the championship rematch live.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners