fieldhockey-d1 flag

NCAA | April 25, 2021

NCAA Division I Field Hockey Committee announces 2020 championship field

DI field hockey: 2020 selection show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Field Hockey Committee announced today the teams that will compete in the 2020 NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship. Nine conferences were awarded automatic qualification. The top four teams were seeded nationally and received a first-round bye for this year's 12-team bracket.

MORE CHAMPS: Complete spring selection show schedule

The following conferences and their representatives received an automatic qualification:

America East Conference Stanford
Atlantic Coast Conference North Carolina
Atlantic 10 Conference VCU
Big East Conference UConn
Big Ten Conference Michigan
Colonial Athletic Association Delaware
Mid-American Conference Miami (OH)
Northeast Conference Rider
Patriot League Bucknell

The remaining three teams that were selected at-large (listed alphabetically) include: Iowa, Louisville and Northwestern.

First- and second-round games will be played April 30 and May 2 at Pennsylvania State University and at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. North Carolina will host the semifinals and final Friday, May 7, and Sunday, May 9, at Karen Shelton Stadium in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. The semifinals will be available on ESPN3 and the championship game will be broadcast on ESPNU.

In 2019, North Carolina, finished the season undefeated (23-0) while claiming its eighth NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship title with a 6-1 victory over Princeton University, at Kentner Stadium in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

5 reasons why Erin Matson is a perfect fit to be the UNC field hockey coach

Here is why Erin Matson, just a year removed from her playing career, is primed to take over at North Carolina for the legendary Karen Shelton.

Erin Matson named North Carolina's head field hockey coach

Erin Matson was named North Carolina's next head field hockey coach after Karen Shelton announced her retirement after 42 years at the helm.

Teams announced for 2022 NCAA Division II field hockey championship

East Stroudsburg lands the top seed in the 2022 DII field hockey championship field. See the full bracket here.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners