July 27, 2009

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) -- Ohio State is the team to beat in this year's Big Ten football race.

The Buckeyes were picked to win it all by voters at the conference's football media day. The results were announced on Monday. Penn State was the runner-up, followed by Michigan State.

Ohio State quarterback Terrelle Pryor was selected as the preseason offensive player of the year and Michigan State linebacker Greg Jones was singled out on defense.

The Buckeyes are pursuing their fifth straight Big Ten title after going 10-3 a year ago and tying Penn State for the title with a 7-1 mark. Twelve starters will be returning for Ohio State.