Nov. 14, 2010

NCAA Release

The NCAA Division II Football Committee announced today the field of 24 teams for the 2010 NCAA Division II Football Championship.

Eight first-round games will be conducted on the campus of one of the competing institutions.

In addition, two teams per super regional have earned first-round byes. The first-round winners will all advance to face a bye team in their super regional in the second round on the campus of one of the competing institutions.

Quarterfinal winners will advance to play in the semifinals on the campus of one of the competing institutions. Six teams selected per super regional make up the field of 24 teams. Second-round winners will meet in the quarterfinals at various campus sites.

The first-round dates, sites and pairings are:

November 20 at St. Cloud, Minnesota
Hillsdale College (9-2) vs. *St. Cloud State University (9-2)

November 20 at Allendale, Michigan
Colorado School of Mines (9-2) vs. *Grand Valley State University (10-1)

November 20 at Warrensburg, Missouri
West Texas A&M University (8-3) vs. *University of Central Missouri (9-2)

November 20 at Maryville, Missouri
Missouri Western State University (8-3) vs. *Northwest Missouri State University (9-1)

November 20 at Wingate, North Carolina
Morehouse College (8-2) vs. *Wingate University (8-2)

November 20 at Valdosta, Georgia
University of North Alabama (8-3) vs. *Valdosta State University (8-2)

November 20 at Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Shaw University (9-2) vs. *Shepherd University (9-1)

November 20 at California, Pennsylvania
Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania (9-2) vs. *California University of Pennsylvania (10-1)

*Denotes Host Institution

The following institutions earned first-round byes in each super regional and also will host a second-round
game on November 27, 2010.

Super Regional One:
1. Kutztown University of Pennsylvania (10-1)
2. Mercyhurst College (9-2)

Super Regional Two:
1. Albany State University (Georgia) (10-0)
2. Delta State University (8-3)

Super Regional Three:
1. University of Minnesota Duluth (11-0)
2. Augustana College (South Dakota) (10-1)

Super Regional Four:
1. Abilene Christian University (11-0)
2. Texas A&M University-Kingsville (10-1)

All contests shall start at noon local time. Other times may be established if approved by the committee.

Northwest Missouri State defeated Grand Valley State in the 2009 national championship game to claim the NCAA title.

The championship game will be played December 18, at 11 a.m. Eastern time at Braly Municipal Stadium in Florence, Alabama and will be broadcast live on ESPN2 HD/ The 2010 championship will mark 25 consecutive years that the Division II championship game has been played in Florence. In addition, both semifinal games will be played on Saturday, December 11. Kick-off will be at either 2 p.m. or 6 p.m. Eastern time on CBS College HD/