Nov. 14, 2010

NCAA Release

The NCAA Division III Football Committee announced today the field of 32 teams for the 2010 NCAA Division III Football Championship. The committee selected teams based on conference results and competition within an institutions respective evaluation region.

Twenty-three conferences received automatic-qualifying berths. Three berths were reserved for true independents and those teams that are members of conferences that do not receive automatic qualification. The remaining six berths were awarded to teams from either automatic qualifying conferences that did not win an automatic berth, or remaining true independent teams and teams in non-automatic qualifying conferences.

The first round of the championship will be played November 20 at the host institutions campus or at an alternate site approved by the football committee. The Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, the national championship game, will be played December 18, at Salem Stadium in Salem, Virginia. The game will be broadcast live on ESNPU HD at 3:30 p.m. Eastern time.

The following 23 conferences and their respective schools received automatic-qualifying berths:

American Southwest Conference - University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Centennial Conference - Muhlenberg College
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin - North Central (Illinois)
Empire 8 - Alfred University
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference - Franklin College
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Wartburg College
Liberty League - St. Lawrence University
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association - Trine University
Middle Atlantic States Collegiate Athletic Conference - Delaware Valley College
Midwest Conference - St. Norbert College
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - University of St. Thomas (Minnesota)
New England Football Conference - Endicott College
New Jersey Athletic Conference - State University College at Cortland
North Coast Athletic Conference - Wittenberg University
Northern Athletics Conference - Benedictine University (Illinois)
Northwest Conference - Linfield College
Ohio Athletic Conference - Mount Union College
Old Dominion Athletic Conference - Washington and Lee University
Presidents Athletic Conference - Thomas More College
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - California Lutheran University
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference - DePauw University
USA South Athletic Conference - Christopher Newport University
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - University of Wisconsin, Whitewater

Pool B Berths (3):
State University of New York Maritime College
Salisbury University
Wesley College

Pool C Berths (6):
Bethel University (Minnesota)
Coe College
Hampden-Sydney College
Ohio Northern University
Wheaton College (Illinois)

The first-round dates, sites, and team match-ups are:

November 20 at Dover, Delaware
*Wesley (9-0) vs. Muhlenberg (7-3)

November 20 at Hampden-Sydney, Virginia
*Hampden-Sydney (9-1) vs. Montclair St. (9-1)

November 20 at Crestview Hills, Kentucky
*Thomas More (10-0) vs. Wash. & Lee (8-2)

November 20 at Belton, Texas
*Mary Hardin-Baylor (10-0) vs. Christopher Newport (6-4)

November 20 at Naperville, Illinois
*North Central (IL) (10-0) vs. St. Norbert (7-3)

November 20 at Ada, Ohio
*Ohio Northern (9-1) vs. Wittenberg (10-0)

November 20 at Greencastle, Indiana
*DePauw (9-1) vs. Trine (10-0)

November 20 at Whitewater, Wisconsin
*Wis.-Whitewater (10-0) vs. Franklin (9-1)

November 20 at Alliance, Ohio
*Mount Union (10-0) vs. St. Lawrence (5-5)

November 20 at Doylestown, Pennsylvania
*Delaware Valley (8-2) vs. Salisbury (7-2)

November 20 at Alfred, New York
*Alfred (8-2) vs. Maritime (NY) (10-0)

November 20 at Cortland, New York
*Cortland St. (9-1) vs. Endicott (9-2)

November 20 at St. Paul, Minnesota
*St. Thomas (MN) (10-0) vs. Benedictine (8-2)

November 20 at McMinnville, Oregon
*Linfield (8-1) vs. Cal Lutheran (8-1)

November 20 at Waverly, Iowa
**Wartburg (10-0) vs. Bethel (MN) (9-1)

November 20 at Wheaton, Illinois
*Wheaton (IL) (9-1) vs. Coe (9-1)

*Denotes host institution

All games start at noon local time.

**Wartburg vs. Bethel (MN) game will start at 1 p.m. local time.

2010 will be Mount Unions 22nd straight NCAA appearance followed by Wittenberg making their 14th appearance. In 2009 the University of Wisconsin, Whitewater defeated Mount Union College, 38 - 28.