Position Name Association
Co-chair Harvey Perlman Nebraska
Co-chair Kenneth I. Chenault
Member Judy Genshaft South Fla.
Member Nathan O. Hatch Wake Forest
Member John G. Peters Northern Ill.
Member Joe Castiglione Oklahoma
Member Tim Curley Penn State
Member Dan Beebe Big 12
Member Craig Thompson Mountain West
Member Greg Sankey SEC
Member Kevin Weiberg Pac-10
Expert Sharon I. Allen Deloitte LLP

INDIANAPOLIS -- NCAA president Mark Emmert on Tuesday announced the members of the Division I Bowl Licensing Task Force, a group that includes leading corporate executives, university presidents, athletics directors and conference representatives.

The task force will be co-chaired by Harvey Perlman, chancellor of the University of Nebraska, Lincoln, and Kenneth I.  Chenault, chairman and CEO of the American Express Company.

In addition to Chenault, the task force will include another outside expert, Sharon I. Allen, chairman of the board of Deloitte LLP.  

The task force will include three university presidents (Judy Genshaft of South Florida, Nathan O. Hatch of Wake Forest and John G. Peters of Northern Illinois); two athletics directors (Joe Castiglione of Oklahoma and Tim Curley of Penn State); two conference commissioners (Dan Beebe of the Big 12 and Craig Thompson of the Mountain West); and two conference administrators (Greg Sankey of the Southeastern Conference and Kevin Weiberg of the Pac-10).

“Through the strong and inclusive leadership we have assembled, the task force will undertake a full review of the bowl structure to ensure the integrity of the system and bring a better public understanding of the NCAA’s role with licensing bowl games,” Emmert said.

The panel will examine several areas, including governance and oversight by bowl sponsoring agencies, conflict-of-interest rules and policies, advertising and title-sponsorship standards, and the oversight and reporting of financial management of bowl games. 

The task force expects to report findings and recommendations to the NCAA Board of Directors in October.

Bowl Licensing Task Force created