BETHPAGE, N.Y. -- The 2011 John Mackey Award preseason watch list has been released by the Nassau County Sports Commission. Given annually to the best collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. The 2011 winner will be presented live at the ESPN College Football Awards Show on Dec. 8.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first president of the NFLPA.

Presented since 2000, the John Mackey Award includes 10 NFL players as alumni: Dallas Clark (2001) of the 2006 Super Bowl champion Indianapolis Colts; two-time Super Bowl champion Daniel Graham (2002); Kellen Winslow II (2003) of the Tampa Bay Bucaneers; two-time Super Bowl champion Heath Miller (2004) of the Pittsburgh Steelers; Marcedes Lewis (2005) of the Jacksonville Jaguars; 2008 Super Bowl champion Matt Spaeth (2006); Fred Davis (2007) of the Washington Redskins; Chase Coffman (2008) of the Cincinnati Bengals; Aaron Hernandez (2009) of the New England Patriots; and the 2010 John Mackey Award recipient D.J. Williams of the Green Bay Packers.

2011 John Mackey Award Watch List
Player School Player School
Dwayne Allen Clemson Cooper Helfet Duke
Brandon Barden Vanderbilt DC Jefferson Rutgers
Tim Biere Kansas Kevin Koger Michigan
Ted Bolser Indiana Eric Lair Minnesota
George Bryan NC State Brian Linthicum Michigan State
Charles Orson Georgia Philip Lutzenkirchen Auburn
Josh Chichester Louisville Anthony Miller California
Jack Doyle Western Kentucky Chris Pantale Boston College
Drake Dunsmore Northwestern David Paulson Oregon
Kyle Efaw Boise State Colter Phillips Virginia
Michael Egnew Missouri Nick Provo Syracuse
Tyler Eifert Notre Dame Lucas Reed New Mexico
Rhett Ellison USC Kyler Reed Nebraska
Coby Fleener Stanford Evan Rodriquez Temple
Ladarius Green Louisiana Jake Stoneburner Ohio State
Ryan Griffin Connecticut Michael Williams Alabama
Joe Halahuni Oregon State Luke Willson Rice