AUGUSTA, Ga. -- The Augusta Sports Council announced the preseason watch list for the 2011 Ray Guy Award, which honors the nation’s top collegiate punter. The preseason list recognizes the five returning Ray Guy Award semifinalists from 2010. Among the notable punters is 2009 Ray Guy Award winner and 2010 Ray Guy Award finalist Drew Butler of Georgia.

The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens for nominations in mid-August. The complete list of candidates will be released on Oct. 28. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the 10 semifinalists, who will be announced on Nov. 11.

A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the three finalists, to be announced on Nov. 21. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live during the College Football Awards Show on Dec. 8.

2011 Ray Guy Award Watch List
Player School Player School
Bryan Anger California Quinn Sharp Oklahoma State
Drew Butler Georgia Dawson Zimmerman Clemson
Kyle Martens Rice