DALLAS – The 2011 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List features the nation's best defensive players and includes 87 contenders on the initial watch list. The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Every FBS conference and Notre Dame are represented on the list that includes linemen, linebackers and defensive backs. Players may be added or deleted from the watch list during the season.

For the 11th consecutive season, the FWAA will choose a National Defensive Player of the Week. If that player is not on the watch list, he automatically will be added. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 17.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner is chosen from five finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the Bronko Nagurski finalists. Committee members choose by individual ballot to select the winner, who is considered the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be on Dec. 12 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Along with the 2011 winner being announced, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award. Florida's Jack Youngblood, an end from the FWAA's 1970 All-American team, will be honored. Georgia head coach Mark Richt will be the keynote speaker at the banquet.

2011 Bronko Nagurski Watch List
Player Position School Player Position School
Ray-Ray Armstrong S Miami Markelle Martin S Oklahoma State
Mark Barron S Alabama Mike Martin DT Michigan
Jake Bequette DE Arkansas Chris Marve LB Vanderbilt
Brandon Boykin CB Georgia Jonathan Massaquoi DE Troy
Nigel Bradham LB Florida State Michael Mauti LB Penn State
Tanner Brock LB TCU T.J. McDonald S USC
Arthur Brown LB Kansas State Chase Minnifield CB Virginia
Zach Brown LB North Carolina Charles Mitchell S Mississippi State
Vince Browne DE Northwestern Roosevelt Nix DE Kent State
Vontaze Burfict LB Arizona State Donte Paige-Moss DE North Carolina
Miles Burris LB San Diego State Dontari Poe DT Memphis
Tank Carder LB TCU Tydreke Powell DT North Carolina
Morris Claiborne CB LSU Shaun Prater CB Iowa
Quinton Coples DE North Carolina Kheeston Randall DT Texas
Fletcher Cox DE Mississippi State Kendall Reyes DT Connecticut
Jared Crick DT Nebraska Xavier Rhodes CB Florida State
Vinny Curry DE Marshall Adrian Robinson DE Temple
Lavonte David LB Nebraska Josh Robinson CB UCF
Alfonzo Dennard CB Nebraska Keenan Robinson LB Texas
Tony Dye UCLA J.K. Schaffer LB Cincinnati
Marcus Forston DT Miami Kawann Short DT Purdue
Jerry Franklin LB Arkansas Mychal Sisson LB Colorado State
Stephon Gilmore CB South Carolina Shayne Skov LB Stanford
Zaviar Gooden LB Missouri Harrison Smith S Notre Dame
Logan Harrell DT Fresno State Akeem Spence DT Illinois
Cliff Harris CB Oregon Sean Spence LB Miami
Casey Hayward CB Vanderbilt Alameda Ta'amu DT Washington
Dont'a Hightower LB Alabama Keith Tandy CB West Virginia
Jayron Hosley CB Virginia Tech Kenny Tate LB Maryland
Jaye Howard DT Florida Bruce Taylor LB Virginia Tech
Delano Howell S Stanford Devin Taylor DE South Carolina
Bruce Irvin DE West Virginia Manti Te'o LB Notre Dame
Malik Jackson DT Tennessee Taylor Thompson DE SMU
Brandon Jenkins DE Florida State Danny Trevathan LB Kentucky
James-Michael Johnson LB Nevada Courtney Upshaw LB Alabama
Coryell Judie CB Texas A&M Prentiss Waggner S Tennessee
Mychal Kendricks LB California Bobby Wagner LB Utah State
Dre Kirkpatrick CB Alabama Brian Wagner LB Akron
Jake Knott LB Iowa State Korey Williams LB Southern Miss
Luke Kuechly LB Boston College Nathan Williams DE Ohio State
Robert Lester S Alabama Billy Winn DT Boise State
Travis Lewis LB Oklahoma Derek Wolfe DT Cincinnati
Brandon Lindsey DE Pittsburgh Jerel Worthy DT Michigan State
Brad Madison DE Missouri