HOUSTON – The Lombardi Award Committee released the 2011 Lombardi Award Watch List on Tuesday. This will be the 42nd season that the Lombardi Award has named the nation’s college lineman of the year.

Alabama, Boise State, Miami, North Carolina and SMU lead the way with four players each among the 125 candidates on the initial watch list. Eleven other schools have at last three contenders, including Nebraska which boasts defensive tackle Jared Crick, the only Lombardi Award semifinalist (12 players) returning from 2010. A total of 33 schools have multiple players among the initial watch list. 

Eligibility for the Lombardi Award is limited to down linemen competing either on offense of defense from end to end who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, and linebackers who set up no father than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage. All candidates also must be eligible to play college sports under the rules and regulations of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA).

The candidates earned a place on the watch list by earning All-American honors last season, by being named to their respective all-conference first team last season as selected by the conference’s head coaches, by being projected to be an All-American or first team all-conference player for the coming season, or by nomination approved by the nominations committee.

While the watch list highlights those players who have already received national recognition, any FBS player who meets the above requirements is eligible for consideration from the Lombardi Award Selection Committee. This committee is comprised of more than 500 members, including all past winners and finalists, all FBS head coaches, and a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

The Lombardi Award Watch List, intended as a reference tool for the selection committee, will be periodically updated and revised up to the first round of voting to determine the 12 semifinalists for 2011.

Last year’s Rotary Lombardi Award winner, Nick Fairley (Auburn), was drafted by the Detroit Lions and finalist Adrian Clayborn (Iowa) was drafted by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, both in the first round of the National Football League draft.

The 42nd Lombardi Award will be handed out during festivities on Dec. 6-7 at Reliant Center in Houston.

2011 Lombardi Award Watch List
Player Position School Player Position School
Mike Adams OT Ohio State Mike Martin DT Michigan
Levy Adcock OT Oklahoma State Chris Marve LB Vanderbilt
Jeff Allen OT Illinois Jonathan Massaquoi DE Troy
Alvin Bailey G Arkansas Matt McCants OT UAB
Don Barclay OT West Virginia Shea McClellin DE Boise State
Kelvin Beachum OT SMU Marcus McGraw LB Houston
Jake Bequette DE Arkansas Cameron Meredith DE Nebraska
Nigel Bradham LB Florida State Carmen Messina LB New Mexico
Mike Brewster C Ohio State Ryan Miller G Colorado
Tanner Brock LB TCU Julian Miller DT West Virginia
Jaymes Brooks G Virginia Tech David Molk C Michigan
Austin Brown DT Miami Roosevelt Nix DE Kent State
Vince Browne DE Northwestern Trevor Olson OT Northern Illinois
Vontaze Burfict LB Arizona State Kelechi Osemele OT Iowa State
Ben Burkett C Northwestern Donte Paige-Moss DE North Carolina
Miles Burris LB San Diego State Corey Paredes LB Hawaii
Thomas Byrd C Boise State Nick Perry DE USC
Tank Carder LB TCU Moe Petrus C Connecticut
Audie Cole LB NC State Nate Potter OT Boise State
Jonathan Cooper G North Carolina Tydreke Powell DT North Carolina
Quinton Coples DT North Carolina Sean Progar DE Northern Illinois
Jared Crick DT Nebraska Kheeson Randall DL Texas
Vinny Curry DE Marshall Taylor Reed LB SMU
Andrew Datko OT Florida State Riley Reiff   OT Iowa
Lavonte David LB Nebraska Kendall Reyes DE Connecticut
Ja'Gared Davis LB SMU Matt Reynolds OT BYU
Demario Davis LB Arkansas State Travian Robertson DT South Carolina
David DeCastro G Stanford Keenan Robinson LB Texas
Blake DeChristopher OT Virginia Tech Adrian Robinson DE Temple
Joe Duhon G Southern Miss Mike Ryan OT Connecticut
Lonnie Edwards G Texas Tech Quentin Saulsberry G/C Mississippi State
Joe Flading OT Ohio JK Schaffer LB Cincinnati
Joel Foreman G Michigan State Mitchell Schwartz OT California
Marcus Forston DT Miami Mychall Sisson LB Colorado State
Jerry Franklin LB Arkansas Shayne Skov LB Stanford
Dalton Freeman C Clemson Jacquies Smith DE Missouri
Cordy Glenn G/T Georgia Bradley Sowell OT Mississippi
Stephen Good G Oklahoma Sean Spence LB Miami
Ben Habern C Oklahoma Andrew Sweat LB Ohio State
Logan Harrell DT Fresno State Alameda Ta'amu DT Washington
Dont’a Hightower LB Alabama Bruce Taylor LB Virginia Tech
Alex Hoffman G Cincinnati Devin Taylor DE South Carolina
Jaye Howard DT Florida Manti Te'o LB Notre Dame
Bruce Irvin DE West Virginia Taylor Thompson DE SMU
Malik Jackson DE/DT Tennessee Chris Thompson C Houston
Brandon Jenkins DE Florida State Danny Trevathan LB Kentucky
Tony Jerod-Eddie DL Texas A&M Jabaree Tuani DE Navy
Luke Joeckel OT Texas A&M Courtney Upshaw DE/LB Alabama
Cam Johnson DT Virginia Joe Vellano DT Maryland
Chandler Jones DE Syracuse William Vlachos C Alabama
Barrett Jones G Alabama Bobby Wagner LB Utah State
Ben Jones C Georgia Chaz Walker LB Utah
Matt Kalil OT USC Larry Warford G Kentucky
Mychal Kendricks LB California Brandon Washington G Miami
Jake Knott LB Iowa State Scott Wedige C Northern Illinois
Peter Konz C Wisconsin Sean Westgate LB UCLA
Luke Kuechly LB Boston College Garrick Williams LB Texas A&M
Shaun Lewis LB Oklahoma State Korey Williams LB Southern Miss
Travis Lewis LB Oklahoma Billy Winn DT Boise State
Brandon Lindsey DE Pittsburgh Jerel Worthy DT Michigan State
Trent Mackey LB Tulane Carson York G Oregon
Brad Madison DL Missouri Kevin Zeitler G Wisconsin
Jonathan Martin OT Stanford