DALLAS, TEXAS -- Preseason candidates for the 2011 Doak Walker Award, presented annually to the nation’s top college running back, were announced and include a field of 51 candidates. Highlighting the list is 2010 Doak Walker Award winner LaMichael James.


James led the nation in rushing and scoring last season at Oregon. He ran for 1,731 yards and 21 touchdowns. Also on the list after being a semifinalist for the award last season is TCU's Ed Wesley, who rushed for 1,078 yards and 11 touchdowns as a sophomore last year. 

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the semifinalists on Nov. 11, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on Nov. 21. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on Nov. 28 to determine the recipient. The national selection committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2011 Doak Walker Award will be announced at the College Football Awards Show on Dec. 8 on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas in February.

In its 22nd year, the award is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

2011 Doak Walker Watch List
Player School   Player School
Alvester Alexander Wyoming   LaMichael James Oregon
Victor Anderson Louisville   Marcus Lattimore South Carolina
Keola Antolin Arizona   Zach Line SMU
Edwin Baker Michigan State   Doug Martin Boise State
Montee Ball Wisconsin   Sam McGuffie Rice
Vick Ballard Mississippi State   Davin Meggett Maryland
Bryce Beall Houston   Christine Michael Texas A&M
Duane Bennett Minnesota   Lamar Miller Miami (Fla.)
Brandon Bolden Ole Miss   Alfred Morris Florida Atlantic
Rex Burkhead Nebraska   Isaiah Pead Cincinnati
Asher Clark Air Force   Chris Polk Washington
Marcus Coker Iowa   Tauren Poole Tennessee
Lennon Creer Louisiana Tech   Bobby Rainey Western Kentucky
Orleans Darkwa Tulane   Trent Richardson Alabama
Knile Davis Arkansas   Pat Shed UAB
Jeff Demps Florida   Rodney Stewart Colorado
JJ Di Luigi BYU   Stepfan Taylor Stanford
Lance Dunbar North Texas   Alexander Teich Navy
Michael Dyer Auburn   Adonis Thomas Toledo
Andre Ellington Clemson   Matthew Tucker TCU
Jason Ford Illinois   Robert Turbin Utah State
Johnathan Franklin UCLA   Ed Wesley TCU
Ray Graham Pittsburgh   James White Wisconsin
Cyrus Gray Texas A&M   David Wilson Virginia Tech
Montel Harris Boston College   Cierre Wood Notre Dame
Ronnie Hillman San Diego State