FORT WORTH, Texas -- The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced the 2011 Davey O'Brien Award Watch List compiled by a subset of national selection committee. It features 38 of the nation's top collegiate quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2011 college football season. 

In addition to 2010 finalists Andrew Luck (Stanford) and Kellen Moore (Boise State), 2009 O'Brien finalist Case Keenum (Houston) is back among the contenders. This year's list also includes seven 2010 semifinalists: Matt Barkley (USC), Kirk Cousins (Michigan State), Robert Griffin III (Baylor), Landry Jones (Oklahoma), Taylor Martinez (Nebraska), Denard Robinson (Michigan) and Darron Thomas (Oregon).

Appearing on the watch list is not a requirement for a player to be the winner. Quarterbacks from all 120 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Oct. 24. The foundation and the selection committee will announce three finalists on Nov. 21. The 2011 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced during the College Football Awards on Dec. 8.

The 35th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 20 in Fort Worth, Texas.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O'Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which has given away more than $825,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life.

2011 Davey O'Brien Watch List
Player School Player School
Matt Barkley USC Taylor Martinez Nebraska
Tyler Bray Tennessee Bryant Moniz Hawaii
Alex Carder Western Michigan Kellen Moore Boise State
Zach Collaros Cincinnati Aaron Murray Georgia
Kirk Cousins Michigan State Danny O'Brien Maryland
Dayne Crist Notre Dame Kyle Padron SMU
Austin Davis Southern Miss Dan Persa Northwestern
Dominique Davis East Carolina Chris Relf Mississippi State
Nick Foles Arizona Sean Renfree Duke
Jeff Godfrey UCF Corey Robinson Troy
Robert Griffin III Baylor Denard Robinson Michigan
Chandler Harnish Northern Illinois Nathan Scheelhaase Illinois
Jake Heaps BYU Geno Smith West Virginia
Landry Jones Oklahoma Tino Sunseri Pittsburgh
Case Keenum Houston Ryan Tannehill Texas A&M
G.J. Kinne Tulsa Darron Thomas Oregon
Ryan Lindley San Diego State Brandon Weeden Oklahoma State
Andrew Luck Stanford Russell Wilson Wisconsin
EJ Manuel Florida State Jordan Wynn Utah