NORTHBROOK, Ill. -- Allstate Insurance Company and the American Football Coaches Association on Tuesday announced the 22 student-athletes named to the 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, one of the most prestigious off-the field honors in college football. For 20 years the award has recognized a select group of college football players committed to making a difference in their communities.

A program-record 132 players were nominated for the award. From the nominations, a special voting panel, including former Good Works Team members and current college football broadcasters, selected 22 players from across the country to the team.  Of the two 11-member teams, one comprises players competing in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and the other is a combined team representing the Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II and III and the NAIA.

From donating bone marrow to a cancer patient to mentoring children home and abroad to playing the piano for hospital patients, the selfless acts of these 22 student-athletes prove that tackles and touchdowns do not have to come at the expense of greatness off the field.

"The tremendous community service activities these young student-athletes participate in is exceptional," said Grant Teaff, executive director of the American Football Coaches Association. "These 22 student-athletes have sacrificed their personal time in an attempt to make their communities a better place."

Since 1992, the Southeastern Conference leads all conferences with 54 selections to the Good Works Teams, followed by the Big 12 with 40 selections and the Atlantic Coast Conference with 29 selections.

With Aron White's selection this year, Georgia moves into first place with 13 honorees to the Good Works Team. The Bulldogs are followed by Nebraska and St. Thomas (Minn.) with 12 honorees each.

Name Class Pos. School
Robert Griffin Jr. QB Baylor
Chris Potter Jr. WR Boise State
Brian Lockridge Sr. RB Colorado
Aron White Sr. TE Georgia
Jacob Lewellen Jr. DL Kentucky
Jared Crick Sr. DL Nebraska
Alexander Netter Sr. OL Northwestern
Dayne Crist Sr. QB Notre Dame
Matt Barkley Jr. QB USC
Wayne Tribue Sr. OL Temple
Emmanuel Acho Sr. LB Texas
Name Class Pos. School
Byron Bell Sr. DL Carson-Newman
Cory Nikkel Sr. TE Central (Iowa)
Jacob Heppner Sr. DB Central Methodist
Stoy Hall Sr. LB Drake
David Melms Jr. DB Macalester
Kellen Cox Jr. WR Missouri Southern State
Colby Rohde Sr. TE Morningside
Justin Belotti Sr. DB North Dakota
Yaser Elqutub Sr. LB Northwestern State
Matt Greenhalgh Jr. OL Rhode Island
Ricky McClain Jr. DL SUNY Maritime