INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Football Committee announced Sunday the field of 32 teams for the 2011 NCAA Division III Football Championship.  The committee selected teams based on conference results and competition within an institution’s respective evaluation region. 

2011 Division III Championship
Interactive Bracket
Printable Bracket
Championship Information

Twenty-five conferences received automatic-qualifying berths.  One berth was reserved for true independents and those teams that are members of conferences that do not receive automatic qualification.  The remaining six berths were awarded to teams from either automatic qualifying conferences that did not win an automatic berth, or remaining true independent teams and teams in non-automatic qualifying conferences.

The first round of the championship will be played Nov. 19 at the host institution’s campus or at an alternate site approved by the football committee.  The Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, the national championship game, will be played Friday, Dec. 16, at Salem Stadium in Salem, Va.  The game will be broadcast live on ESNPU HD at 7 p.m. ET.

Schools Receiving Automatic-Qualifying Berths (25)
Conference School
American Southwest Conference Mary Hardin-Baylor
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin North Central (Ill.)
Eastern Collegiate Football Conference Norwich
Empire 8 Salisbury
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Franklin
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Dubuque
Liberty League Hobart
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Albion
Middle Atlantic States Collegiate Athletic Conference Delaware Valley
Midwest Conference Monmouth (Ill.)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference St. Thomas (Minn.)
New England Football Conference Western New England
New Jersey Athletic Conference Kean
North Coast Athletic Conference Wabash
Northern Athletics Conference Benedictine
Northwest Conference Linfield
Ohio Athletic Conference Mount Union
Old Dominion Athletic Conference  Hampden-Sydney
Presidents’ Athletic Conference Thomas More
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference California Lutheran
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity (Texas)
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference St. Scholastica
USA South Athletic Conference Christopher Newport
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wisconsin, Whitewater
Pool B Berths (1)
Pool C Berths (6)
Illinois College
Illinois Wesleyan 
St. John Fisher 
First-Round Action
Dates, sites, and team match-ups
Nov. 19 at Whitewater, Wis.
*Wisconsin-Whitewater (10-0) vs. Albion (6-4)
Nov. 19 at Franklin, Ind.
*Franklin (9-1) vs. Thomas More (9-1)
Nov. 19 at Union, N.J.
*Kean (9-1) vs. Christopher Newport (8-2)
Nov. 19 at Salisbury, Md.
*Salisbury (9-1) vs. Western New England (10-1)
Nov. 19 at St. Paul, Minn.
*St. Thomas (MN) (10-0) vs. St. Scholastica (10-0)
Nov. 19 at Bloomington, Ill.
*Illinois Wesleyan (9-1) vs. Monmouth (Ill.) (9-1)
Nov.19 at Baltimore, Md.
*Johns Hopkins (10-0) vs. St. John Fisher (8-2)
Nov. 19 at Doylestown, Pa.
*Delaware Valley (10-0) vs. Norwich (7-3)
Nov.19 at Belton, Texas
*Mary Hardin-Baylor (10-0) vs. Redlands (8-1)
Nov. 19 at San Antonio, Texas
*Trinity (Texas) (10-0) vs. McMurry (7-2)
Nov. 19 at McMinnville, Ore.
*Linfield (9-0) vs. Cal Lutheran (8-1)
Nov. 19 at Dover, Del.
*Wesley (9-1) vs. Hobart (7-1)
Nov. 19 at Crawfordsville, Ind.
*Wabash (10-0) vs. Illinois College (9-1)
Nov. 19 at Naperville, Ill.
*North Central (IL) (9-1) vs. Dubuque (9-1)
Nov. 19 at Danville, Ky.
*Centre (8-1) vs. Hampden-Sydney (8-2)
Nov. 19 at Alliance, Ohio
*Mount Union (10-0) vs. Benedictine (Ill.) (7-3)
*Denotes host institution

All games start at noon local time.

The 2011 tournament will be Mount Union’s 23rd consecutive NCAA appearance. In 2010, Wisconsin-Whitewater defeated Mount Union 31 – 21.