• 2012 will mark the third consecutive year that the championship game will be held at FC Dallas Stadium in Frisco, Texas. In 1978, 1981 and 1982, the championship game was also held in the state of Texas at Wichita Falls.

• There has only been one shutout in the 34-year history of the FCS Championship. Delaware beat Colgate 40-0 in 2003.

• Marshall’s Randy Moss holds the record for most receiving yards in a FCS playoff game when he had 288 yards against Delaware in the 1996 playoffs.

• The first FCS Championship was a four-team format in 1978 with Florida A&M defeating Massachusetts 35-28 in the championship game which was televised on ABC.

• Former FCS student-athletes that became actors: Ed O’Neill (Youngstown State, ”Married with Children” and “Modern Family”); Frank McRae (Tennessee State, ”Red Dawn”); Ed Marinaro (Cornell, ”Hill Street Blues”); Dean Cain (Princeton, ”Superman”); and Matthew Fox (Columbia, ”Party of Five” and “Lost”).

• The 2013 FCS championship tournament bracket will be expanded to 24 teams.

• Appalachian State is the only team to win three consecutive FCS titles, winning the crown from 2005 to 2007.

• William & Mary’s Darren Sharper, who later starred for the Green Bay Packers, Minnesota Vikings and New Orleans Saints, holds the FCS tournament record for punt return yardage with 121 against Jackson State.

• Heading into this season, Montana’s 21 FCS tournament appearances are the most of any institution.

• Former FCS student-athletes now featured as NFL announcers and analysts: Howie Long (Villanova); Kurt Warner (Northern Iowa); Ron Jaworski (Youngstown State); Rich Gannon (Delaware); and Phil Simms (Morehead State).

Championship History
Record Books
Return to FCS Championship Info Page