2012 major award watch lists   

PHILADELPHIA -- The Maxwell Football Club announced its watch lists Monday for the 76th annual Maxwell Award, given to America's outstanding collegiate football player since 1937 and  named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell. 

Members of the initial watch lists cross a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast. Returning Maxwell Award semifinalists from 2011 include USC QB Matt Barkley, Clemson QB Tajh Boyd, Oklahoma QB Landry Jones and USC WR Robert Woods. No program has more athletes on this year's Maxwell Award watch list than USC, which is also represented by WR Marqise Lee and RB Curtis McNeal.

The 2011 Maxwell Award winner, Stanford QB Andrew Luck made himself available for the 2012 NFL Draft, where he was selected No. 1 overall by the Indianapolis Colts.  

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Oct. 29, and the three finalists will be announced Nov. 19. The winner of the 2012 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 6. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala in Atlantic City on March 1.

The watch list candidates were chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which evaluates past performance and future potential. The club will make additions and deletions to the list as the 2012 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club along with collegiate sports information directors, head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

AJ McCarron Alabama QB Jr.
Eddie Lacy Alabama RB Jr.
Cameron Marshall Arizona State RB Sr.
Tyler Wilson Arkansas QB Sr.
Knile Davis Arkansas RB Jr.
Cobi Hamilton Arkansas WR Sr.
Onterio McCalebb Auburn RB Sr.
Terrance Williams Baylor WR Sr.
Branden Oliver Buffalo RB Jr.
Riley Nelson BYU QB Jr.
Keenan Allen California WR Jr.
Isi Sofele California RB Sr.
Tajh Boyd Clemson QB Jr.
Sammy Watkins Clemson WR So.
Andre Ellington Clemson RB Sr.
Lyle McCombs Connecticut RB So.
EJ Manuel Florida State QB Sr.
Derek Carr Fresno State QB Jr.
Robbie Rouse Fresno State RB Sr.
Aaron Murray Georgia QB Jr.
Charles Sims Houston RB Jr.
James Vandenberg Iowa QB Sr.
Collin Klein Kansas State QB Sr.
Teddy Bridgewater Louisvile QB So.
Denard Robinson Michigan QB Sr.
Fitzgerald Toussaint Michigan RB Jr.
Le’Veon Bell Michigan State RB Jr.
James Franklin Missouri QB Jr.
Mike Glennon NC State QB Sr.
Rex Burkhead Nebraska RB Sr.
Giovani Bernard North Carolina RB So.
Bryn Renner North Carolina QB Jr.
Cierre Wood Notre Dame RB Sr.
Tyler Eifert Notre Dame TE Sr.
Braxton Miller Ohio State QB So.
Landry Jones Oklahoma QB Sr.
Kenny Stills Oklahoma WR Jr.
Dominique Whaley Oklahoma RB Sr.
Joseph Randle Oklahoma State RB Jr.
Kenjon Barner Oregon RB Sr.
De’Anthony Thomas Oregon WR So.
Silas Redd Penn State RB Jr.
Ray Graham Pittsburgh RB Sr.
Zach Line SMU RB Sr.
Marcus Lattimore South Carolina RB Jr.
Stepfan Taylor Stanford RB Sr.
Casey Pachall TCU QB Jr.
Da’Rick Rogers Tennessee WR Jr.
Tyler Bray Tennessee QB Jr.
Malcolm Brown Texas RB So.
Christine Michael Texas A&M RB Sr.
Seth Doege Texas Tech QB Sr.
Johnathan Franklin UCLA RB Sr.
Matt Barkley USC QB Sr.
Robert Woods USC WR Jr.
Marqise Lee USC WR So.
Curtis McNeal USC RB Sr.
John White IV Utah RB Sr.
Zac Stacy Vanderbilt RB Sr.
Logan Thomas Virginia Tech QB Jr.
Keith Price Washington QB Jr.
Marquess Wilson Washington State WR Jr.
Geno Smith West Virginia QB Sr.
Tavon Austin West Virginia WR Sr.
Montee Ball Wisconsin RB Sr.