2012 major award watch lists

NEW YORK -- The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2012 fall watch list, which includes 21 returning players from the 2011 list. Clemson's Dalton Freeman is the only returning player among last year's five finalists. 

In all, 51 players are on the watch list. The SEC leads the way with 10 players while the Big Ten follows with six. The ACC, Mountain West and Pac-12 check in with five players each on the initial listing, which includes eight sophomores.

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:

• American Football Coaches Association
• Walter Camp Foundation
• The Sporting News
• Football Writers Association of America

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place centers in a mix of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Committee only counts players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the four All-America teams.

The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy banquet in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 12, 2013.

Eloy Atkinson UTEP Senior
Mario Benavides Louisville Senior
Nick Carlson Wyoming Senior
Braxston Cave Notre Dame Senior
Dillon Day Mississippi State Sophomore
Reese Dismukes Auburn Sophomore
Trent Dupy Tulsa Senior
Dillon Farrell New Mexico Junior
James Ferentz Iowa Senior
Jay Finch Georgia Tech Junior
B.J. Finney Kansas State Sophomore
Travis Frederick Wisconsin Junior
Dalton Freeman Clemson Senior
James Fry TCU Senior
Kevin Galeher Western Michigan Senior
Hronis Grasu Oregon Sophomore
Ben Habern Oklahoma Senior
Gus Handler Colorado Junior
Jonotthan Harrison Florida Junior
Khaled Holmes USC Senior
Andre Huval Louisiana-Lafayette Junior
Alec Johnson San Diego State Senior
T.J. Johnson South Carolina Senior
Barrett Jones Alabama Senior
Zac Kerin Toledo Junior
Tyler Larsen Utah State Junior
Patrick Lewis Texas A&M Senior
P.J. Lonergan LSU Senior
Macky MacPerson Syracuse Junior
Joe Madsen West Virginia Senior
Mike Marboe Idaho Sophomore
Will Matte Indiana Senior
Blake McJunkin SMU Senior
Andrew Miller Virginia Tech Junior
Graham Pocic Illinois Senior
Ryan Powis Army Sophomore
Austin Quattrochi Southern Miss Junior
Jordan Rae UCF Senior
Weston Richburg Colorado State Junior
Sam Schwartzstein Stanford Senior
Matt Smith Kentucky Senior
Matt Stankiewitch Penn State Senior
Tevita Stevens Utah Senior
Travis Swanson Arkansas Junior
Evan Swindall Mississippi Junior
Ryan Turnley Pittsburgh Senior
Brandon Vitabile Northwestern Sophomore
Stephen Warner Louisiana Tech Senior
Robert Waterman UNLV Sophomore
Camden Wentz NC State Senior