2012 major awards watch lists

DALLAS – The 2012 Outland Trophy watch list was released Thursday with a potential line stars who could win the award that goes to the best interior lineman in college football. The award is selected by the Football Writers Association of America.

Senior Barrett Jones from defending national champion Alabama heads a list of 71 players, which includes only tackles, guards and centers on both sides of the ball. Of the players on the watch list, 18 defensive tackles occupied spots. The rest of the linemen were on offense. Every Football Bowl Subdivision conference, along with independents BYU and Notre Dame, had at least one player on the list.

The 6-5, 302-pound Jones, who has switched from offensive tackle to center, aims to become only the second player to win back-to-back Outland Trophies. Nebraska center Dave Rimington is the only player to pull off the double in 1981-82.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists to be named on Nov. 19. Committee members then select the winner by individual ballot.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third-oldest award in major college football. The winner of the 67th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced on ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 6.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet will be held on Jan. 10 in Omaha, Neb.

OT Oday Aboushi Virginia OT Taylor Lewan Michigan
G Alvin Bailey Arkansas DT Bennie Logan LSU
OT David Bakhtiari Colorado G Spencer Long Nebraska
G Chris Barker Nevada DT Star Lotulelei Utah
C Mario Benavides Louisville OT Zack Martin Notre Dame
DT Josh Boyd Mississippi State OT Jake Matthews Texas A&M
C Braxston Cave Notre Dame G Chris McDonald Michigan State
G Jonathan Cooper North Carolina C Andrew Miller Virginia Tech
DT Everett Dawkins Florida State OT Morgan Moses Virginia
DT Aaron Donald Pittsburgh DT Roosevelt Nix Kent State
OT Chris Faulk LSU C Graham Pocic Illinois
C James Ferentz Iowa OT Mark Popek USF
DT Sharrif Floyd Florida OT Justin Pugh Syracuse
OT D.J. Fluker Alabama G Cyril Richardson Baylor
G Blaize Foltz TCU C Weston Richburg Colorado State
C Travis Frederick Wisconsin DT Kawann Short Purdue
C Dalton Freeman Clemson DT Akeem Spence Illinois
G Theo Goins UCF DT Baker Steinkuhler Nebraska
C Ben Habern Oklahoma OT Matt Summers-Gavin California
DT Johnathan Hankins Ohio State C Travis Swanson Arkansas
G Braden Hansen BYU G Lane Taylor Oklahoma State
OT Caylin Hauptmann FIU G Dallas Thomas Tennessee
DT Jordan Hill Penn State DT Aaron Tipoti California
C Khaled Holmes USC G Omoregie Uzzi Georgia Tech
OT Alex Hurst LSU DT Joe Vellano Maryland
OT James Hurst North Carolina OT LaAdrian Waddle Texas Tech
G Gabe Ikard Oklahoma OT Ricky Wagner Wisconsin
G Gabe Jackson Mississippi State G Mason Walters Texas
DT John Jenkins Georgia G Larry Warford Kentucky
DT Timmy Jernigan Florida State G Chance Warmack Alabama
OT Luke Joeckel Texas A&M C Stephen Warner Louisiana Tech
C T.J. Johnson South Carolina DT Jesse Williams Alabama
OT Wesley Johnson Vanderbilt DT Sylvester Williams North Carolina
C Barrett Jones Alabama G David Yankey Stanford
G Joe Kellogg Boise State G Carson York Oregon
C Tyler Larsen Utah State