2012 major awards watch lists

CHICAGO – The 28th annual Butkus Award selection process to honor the nation’s best linebackers began Monday with the announcement of the collegiate preseason watch list.

The watch list contains 51 candidates, honoring the now-retired professional jersey number of Dick Butkus, who is regarded by NFL Films as the best defensive player in football history. The selection panel is comprised of 51 coaches, evaluators and journalists, coordinated by Pro Football Weekly.

The Collegiate Butkus Award watch list includes 51 candidates from 38 universities. Manti Te’o of Notre Dame is the only returning finalist, after having won the inaugural High School Butkus Award in 2008. Jarvis Jones of Georgia is a returning semi-finalist.

Candidates in addition to those appearing on the watch list may be considered for the Award.

Semi-finalists will be named October 22, finalists Nov. 20, and winners will be notified on or before Dec. 4. 


Brandon Magee Arizona State
Uona Kaveinga Brigham Young
Christian Jones Florida State
Nick Moody Florida State
Keith Pough Howard
A.J. Klein Iowa State
Jake Knott Iowa State
Arthur Brown Kansas State
Kevin Minter LSU
Denicos Allen Michigan State
Max Bullough Michigan State
Cameron Lawrence Mississippi State
David Nwabuisi Northwestern
Etienne Sabino Ohio State
Gerald Hodges Penn State
Michael Mauti Penn State
Steve Beauharnais Rutgers
Khaseem Greene Rutgers
Ja'Gared Davis Southern Methodist
Trent Murphy Stanford
Shane Skov Stanford
Chase Thomas Stanford
Damontre Moore Texas A&M
Sean Porter Texas A&M
Nico Johnson Alabama
C.J. Mosley Alabama
Alonzo Highsmith Arkansas
Douglas Rippy Colordao
Sio Moore Connecticut
Jonathan Bostic Florida
Jelani Jenkins Florida
John Lotulelei UNLV
Lerentee McCray Florida
Jarvis Jones Georgia
Cornelius Washington Georgia
Jonathan Brown Illinois
James Morris Iowa
Kenny Tate Maryland
Zaviar Gooden Missouri
Jeremiah Greene Nevada
Kevin Reddick North Carolina
Manti Te'o Notre Dame
Tom Wort Oklahoma
DeVonte Holloman South Carolina
Dion Bailey USC
Jamie Collins Southern Mississippi
A.J. Johnson Tennessee
Andrew Jackson Western Kentucky
Chris Borland Wisconsin
Bruce Taylor Virginia Tech
Travis Long Washington State