2012 major awards watch lists

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. -- The Tallahassee Quarterback Club has released the 2012 Biletnikoff Award preseason watch list. The award annually recognizes the most outstanding receiver in college football. The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of more than 180 prominent football journalists, commentators, and receivers. The 2012 winner will be presented live on Dec. 6 on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Foundation Chairman Walter Manley announced that the Biletnikoff Award winner will receive his trophy at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Feb. 9, 2013. Larry Csonka will deliver the keynote address -- following a tradition of distinguished keynoters like Bart Starr, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, Don Shula, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning, and Dan Fouts -- and recognize the Foundation's fifteen scholarship recipients who will receive from the Foundation well over $200,000 in college scholarships. The Foundation's charitable mission is to provide college scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extra-curricular levels.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation will announce the 10 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on Nov. 12 following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on Nov. 19. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, please consult the Foundation website at www.biletnikoffaward.com.

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Biletnikoff was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994. Sixteen college receivers have won the award, including Randy Moss, Calvin Johnson, Michael Crabtree, and Larry Fitzgerald. Foundation selection committee chairman Ritchie Pickron noted, "The 2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List contains one of the most talented fields in recent memory. We are expecting an extremely competitive contest among the receivers to win the Biletnikoff Award."

Player School
Jared Abbrederis Wisconsin
Keenan Allen California
Tavon Austin West Virginia
Stedman Bailey West Virginia
Emory Blake Auburn
Josh Boyce TCU
Jheranie Boyd North Carolina
Corey Brown Ohio State
Dan Buckner Arizona
Michael Campanaro Wake Forest
DeVonte Christopher Utah
Keenan Davis Iowa
Marcus Davis Virgina Tech
Mike Davis Texas
Andre Debose Florida
Aaron Dobson Marshall
Noel Grigsby San Jose State
Cobi Hamilton Arkansas
Nick Harwell Miami (Ohio)
Willie Haulstead Florida State
Erik Highsmith North Carolina
Cody Hoffman BYU
DeAndre Hopkins Clemson
Justin Hunter Tennessee
Allen Hurns Miami (Fla.)
Darius Johnson SMU
T.J. Jones Notre Dame
Tavarres King Georgia
Alec Lemon Syracuse
Colin Lockett San Diego State
Jordan Matthews Vanderbilt
Matt Miller Boise State
T.J. Moe Missouri
Uzoma Nwachukwu Texas A&M
Quinton Patton Louisiana Tech
Tevin Reese Baylor
Da'Rick Rogers Tennessee
Roy Roundtree Michigan
Mike Shanahan Pittsburgh
Kenny Stills Oklahoma
Devin Street Pittsburgh
Ryan Swope Texas A&M
Conner Vernon Duke
Eric Ward Texas Tech
Markus Wheaton Oregon State
Terrance Williams Baylor
Marquess Wilson Washington State
Robert Woods Southern California