2012 major awards watch lists

DALLAS -- The PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced Thursday the preseason candidates for the 2012 Doak Walker Award. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top college running back.

The field of 52 candidates is highlighted by 2011 Doak Walker Award finalist Montee Ball from Wisconsin. A senior, Ball led the nation in rushing yards and scoring last season. Other nominees include 2011 semifinalists Rex Burkhead (Nebraska), Zach Line (SMU) and Joseph Randle (Oklahoma State).

Nominations for the award will be accepted through October.

Semifinalists will be named Nov. 9, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on Nov. 19. The committee will cast a
second vote beginning on Nov. 26 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2012 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 6. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas, Texas in Feb. 2013.

The award, in its 23rd year, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Player School
Michael Alisa BYU
Montee Ball Wisconsin
Kenjon Barner Oregon
Le′Veon Bell Michigan State
Giovani Bernard North Carolina
Rex Burkhead Nebraska
Jesse Callier Washington
Benny Cunningham Middle Tennessee
Orleans Darkwa Tulane
Knile Davis Arkansas
Andre Ellington Clemson
Johnathan Franklin UCLA
Ray Graham Pittsburgh
Gee Gee Greene Navy
Jordan Hall Ohio State
D.J. Harper Boise State
John Hubert Kansas State
Michael James Miami (Fla.)
Waymon James TCU
Nathan Jeffery UTEP
Walter Kazee San Diego State
Eddie Lacy Alabama
Marcus Lattimore South Carolina
Hunter Lee Louisiana Tech
Zach Line SMU
Raymond Maples Army
Cameron Marshall Arizona State
Onterio McCalebb Auburn
Lyle McCombs Connecticut
Curtis McNeal Southern California
Christine Michael Texas A&M
Latavius Murray UCF
Branden Oliver Buffalo
Joseph Randle Oklahoma State
Silas Redd Penn State
Kedrick Rhodes Florida International
Robbie Rouse Fresno State
Jarred Salubi Baylor
Anthon Samuel Bowling Green
Orwin Smith Georgia Tech
Isi Sofele California
Shawn Southward Troy
Zac Stacy Vanderbilt
Eric Stephens Texas Tech
Stepfan Taylor Stanford
Fitzgerald Toussaint Michigan
Matthew Tucker TCU
James White Iowa State
James White Wisconsin
John White Utah
Kerwynn Williams Utah State
Cierre Wood Notre Dame