Brackets: Interactive  Printable

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Division III Football Committee announced Sunday the field of 32 teams for the 2012 Division III Football Championship. The committee selected teams based on conference results and competition within an school's respective evaluation region.

Twenty-four conferences received automatic-qualifying berths. One berth was reserved for independents and those teams that are members of conferences that do not receive automatic qualification. The remaining seven berths were awarded to teams from either automatic-qualifying conferences that did not win an automatic berth, or remaining independent teams and teams in non-automatic qualifying conferences.

The first round of the championship will be played Nov. 17 at the host school's campus or at an alternate site approved by the football committee.

The Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, the DIII national championship game, will be played Friday, Dec. 14, at Salem Stadium in Salem, Va. The game will be broadcast live on ESNPU HD at 7 p.m. ET.

The following 24 conferences and their respective schools received automatic-qualifying berths:

American Southwest Mary Hardin-Baylor
Centennial Johns Hopkins
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin North Central (Ill.)
Eastern Collegiate Football Mount Ida
Empire 8 Salisbury
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Franklin
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Coe
Liberty League Hobart
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Adrian
Middle Atlantic Widener
Midwest St. Norbert
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic St. Thomas (Minn.)
New England Football Framingham State
New Jersey Athletic Cortland State
North Coast Athletic Wittenberg
Northern Athletics Concordia-Chicago
Northwest Linfield
Ohio Athletic Mount Union
Old Dominion Athletic Washington & Lee
Presidents’ Athletic Washington & Jefferson
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic California Lutheran
Upper Midwest Athletic St. Scholastica
USA South Athletic Christopher Newport
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Pool B Berths (1) Pool C Berths (7)
Wesley Bethel (Minn.)
  Bridgewater State
  Louisiana College
  Pacific Lutheran
Nov. 17 at McMinnville, Ore. *Linfield (9-0) vs. Pacific Lutheran (7-2)
Nov. 17 at Thousand Oaks, Calif. *Cal Lutheran (8-1) vs. North Central (Ill.) (8-2)
Nov. 17 at Chicago, Ill. *Concordia-Chicago (10-0) vs. Bethel (Minn.) (8-2)
Nov. 17 at Oshkosh, Wis. *Wisconsin-Oshkosh (10-0) vs. St. Scholastica (8-2)
Nov. 17 at Geneva, N.Y. *Hobart (10-0) vs. Washington & Lee (8-2)
Nov. 17 at Tiffin, Ohio *Heidelberg (9-1) vs. Wittenberg (9-1)
Nov. 17 at Cedar Rapids, Iowa *Coe (10-0) vs. Elmhurst (9-1)
Nov. 17 at St. Paul, Minn. *St. Thomas (Minn.) (10-0) vs. St. Norbert (8-2)
Nov. 17 at Belton, Texas *Mary Hardin-Baylor (10-0) vs. Louisiana College (8-2)
Nov. 17 at Adrian, Mich. *Adrian (9-1) vs. Franklin (8-2)
Nov. 17 at Cortland, N.Y. *Cortland State (8-1) vs. Framingham State (10-1)
Nov. 17 at Dover, Del. *Wesley (8-1) vs. Mount Ida (8-2)
Nov. 17 at Chester, Pa. *Widener (9-0) vs. Bridgewater St. (9-1)
Nov. 17 at Salisbury, Md. *Salisbury (8-2) vs. Rowan (7-2)
Nov. 17 at Baltimore, Md. *Johns Hopkins (8-1) vs. Washington & Jefferson (8-2)
Nov. 17 at Alliance, Ohio *Mount Union (10-0) vs. Christopher Newport (6-4)
*Denotes host school