NEW YORK -- Payton Award finalists Taylor Heinicke, the record-setting quarterback from Old Dominion, and Eric Breitenstein, the 2,000-yard rusher from Wofford, were selected to The Associated Press FCS All-America team.

Heinicke had the most prolific passing season in the history of what used to be called Division I-AA football. The sophomore from Georgia passed for 5,076 yards and had 5,546 yards of total offense, breaking records set by the late Steve McNair when he was at Alcorn State in 1994.

''What Taylor did this year from an individual standpoint is nothing short of incredible,'' ODU coach Bobby Wilder said Wednesday.

''We build our system around our quarterback and what we feel like are his strengths. To run an offense that suits their needs. As (Heinicke) has gotten comfortable in our system, we've become more of a throwing team because of his comfort level.''

Directing the Monarchs' fast-paced spread, Heinicke also set FCS records for completions (398) and total plays (705). And Heinicke ran for 470 yards and 11 touchdowns.

''He understands our philosophy is to find a way to move the chains,'' Wilder said. ''If you need to run the ball, you run it to get a critical first down and those first downs lead to touchdowns. Protect the ball and find a way to move the chains.''

Heinicke did just that in September against New Hampshire when he passed for a Division I record 730 yards in a 64-61 victory. He threw 79 passes in that game without an interception.

Old Dominion finished 11-2 record, losing last week to Georgia Southern, 49-35, in the quarterfinals of the playoffs.

Breitenstein made his second consecutive appearance as a first-team All-American. The 230-pound senior fullback ran for 2,035 yards and 19 touchdowns this season.

The Walter Payton Award goes to the top player in FCS. Murray State quarterback Casey Brockman, the other finalist for the Payton Award, was picked second-team All-American.

Joining Heinicke and Breitenstein in the first-team backfield was Stony Brook's Miguel Maysonet, who ran for 1,964 and 21 touchdowns.

Eastern Illinois' Erik Lora and Elon's Aaron Mellette, ranked 1-2 in the nation in catches and yards receiving, were the receivers and Harvard's Kyle Juszczyk was the tight end.

A couple of guys who will be playing in this weekend's FCS semifinals highlight the offensive line.

Bill Turner and North Dakota State host Georgia Southern on Friday night and Will Post and Eastern Washington host Sam Houston State on Saturday.

The other linemen were Earl Watford from James Madison, Mike Sellers from The Citadel and Roger Gaines from Tennessee State.

The defense is led by Georgia Southern's 300-pound defensive tackle Brent Russell and Georgetown linebacker Robert McCabe, who leads the nation with 14.45 tackles per game.

Brandon Thurmond of Arkansas-Pine Bluff, the nation's leader with 17 1/2 sacks, joined Russell on the line along with Colton Underwood of Illinois State.

Montana State placed two players on the defense. End Caleb Schreibeis leads FCS with eight forced fumbles and linebacker Cody Owens was the Big Sky defensive player of the year.

New Hampshire linebacker Matt Evans, who was a second-team All-American last year, made the first team this year.

Defensive back Marcus Williams of North Dakota State joined Breitenstein as a two-time All-American and became the only defensive player to repeat this season.

North Dakota State and Montana State were the only teams to place two players on the first team.

The other defensive backs were Darnell Taylor of Sam Houston State, Jaquiski Tartt of Samford and Cooper Taylor of Richmond.

Walter Powell of Murray State was the all-purpose player. He had 1,213 yards receiving and more than 900 yards returning kicks and punts.

Patrick Murray of Fordham was the kicker and Sam Martin of Appalachian State was the punter.

AP FCS All-Americans -- First Team
Position Player School Year
Quarterback Taylor Heinicke Old Dominion Sophomore
Running Back Miguel Maysonet Stony Brook Senior
Running Back Eric Breitenstein Wofford Senior
Lineman Earl Watford James Madison Senior
Lineman Mike Sellers The Citadel Junior
Lineman Will Post Eastern Washington Senior
Lineman Bill Turner North Dakota State Junior
Lineman Roger Gaines Tennessee State Senior
Tight End Kyle Juszczyk Harvard Senior
Wide Receiver Aaron Mellett Elon Senior
Wide Receiver Erik Lora Eastern Illinois Junior
All Purpose Walter Powell Murray State Junior
Kicker Patrick Murray Fordham Senior
Lineman Caleb Schreibeis Montana State Senior
Lineman Colton Underwood Illinois State Junior
Lineman Brent Russell Georgia Southern Senior
Lineman Brandon Thurmond Arkansas-Pine Bluff Senior
Linebacker Matt Evans New Hampshire Senior
Linebacker Jody Owens Montana State Senior
Linebacker Robert McCabe Georgetown Senior
Defensive Back Darnell Taylor Sam Houston State Senior
Defensive Back Marcus Williams North Dakota State Junior
Defensive Back Jaquiski Tartt Samford Sophomore
Defensive Back Cooper Taylor Richmond Senior
Punter Sam Martin Appalachian State Senior


AP FCS All-Americans -- Second Team
Position Player School Year
Quarterback Casey Brockman Murray State Senior
Running Back Zach Zenner South Dakota State Sophomore
Running Back Deonte Williams Cal Poly Senior
Lineman Terren Jones Alabama State Senior
Lineman Michael Bamiro Stony Brook Junior
Lineman Bryan Witzmann South Dakota State Junior
Lineman J.C. Tretter Cornell Senior
Lineman Corey Howard Central Arkansas Senior
Tight End A.C. Leonard Tennessee State Sophomore
Wide Receiver Jordan Harris Bryant Junior
Wide Receiver Brandon Kaufman Eastern Washington Junior
All Purpose Dominic Dunn Northern Colorado Senior
Kicker Colton Cook Southern Utah Junior
Lineman Cody Larsen Southern Utah Senior
Lineman Davis Tull Chattanooga Senior
Lineman Mike Catapano Princeton Senior
Lineman Zach Wagenmann Montana Sophomore
Linebacker Jeremy Kimbrough Appalachian State Senior
Linebacker Stephon Robertson James Madison Junior
Linebacker Blake Peiffer Southeast Missouri State Senior
Defensive Back Robert Alford Southeastern Louisiana Senior
Defensive Back B.W. Webb William & Mary Senior
Defensive Back Demetrius McCray Appalachian State Senior
Defensive Back Johnny Towalid Indiana State Senior
Punter Andy Wilder Northern Arizona Junior


AP FCS All-Americans -- Third Team
Position Player School Year
Quarterback Gavin McCarney Colgate Junior
Running Back Shakir Bell Indiana State Junior
Running Back Tim Flanders Sam Houston State Junior
Lineman Randy Richards Missouri State Senior
Lineman Garrett Frye Georgia Southern Sophomore
Lineman Aaron Adams Eastern Kentucky Senior
Lineman Sean Davies UC Davis Senior
Lineman Dakota Dozier Furman Junior
Tight End Josh Hill Idaho State Senior
Wide Receiver Cordell Roberson Stephen F. Austin Senior
Wide Receiver Kevin Norrell Stony Brook Senior
All Purpose Tyler Varga Yale Sophomore
Kicker Jimmy Pavel Eastern Washington Senior
Lineman Caraun Reid Princeton Senior
Lineman Ken Boatright Southern Illinois Senior
Lineman Joseph Lebeau Jackson State Senior
Lineman Andrew Weaver Sam Houston State Junior
Linebacker Jordan Tripp Montana Junior
Linebacker Keith Pough Howard Senior
Linebacker Ian Sluss Portland State Senior
Defensive Back Kejuan Riley Alabama State Senior
Defensive Back Steven Godbolt Tennessee State Sophomore
Defensive Back Ben Ericksen Illinois State Senior
Defensive Back Caleb Schaffitzel Missouri State Sophomore
Punter Bobby Wenzig Alabama State Junior