PHILADELPHIA -- There's little doubt. Until another team proves otherwise, the North Dakota State Bison are the best FCS team in the country.

With a three-peat as its goal, the North Dakota State enters the 2013 season as the clear No. 1 in The Sports Network FCS Top 25.

Check out the full rankings.

The poll's national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries confirmed North Dakota State as the preseason No. 1 Tuesday by giving the Bison 127 of the 134 first-place votes and 3,340 points.

Head coach Craig Bohl's squad returns 18 starters from a squad that won its second consecutive FCS title this past January. The Bison will try to join the 2005-07 teams at Appalachian State as the second program to win three FCS titles in a row.

NDSU has finished with a 14-1 record in each of the past two seasons. The two- time reigning Missouri Valley Football Conference champion will feature a superb senior class, including quarterback Brock Jensen, a Walter Payton Award nominee, and linebacker Grant Olson and cornerback Marcus Williams, who are both nominees for the Buck Buchanan Award.

"We recognize the big challenges that are ahead of us," said Bohl, whose team kicks off its season on Aug. 30 at defending Big 12 co-champion Kansas State. "Certainly our experience has been helpful, but experience without productivity is not going to get you very far."

The preseason Top 25 had a familiar look with a number of teams setting their sights on conference titles and beyond.

Montana State (11-2 last season), which has won a share of the past three Big Sky championships under head coach Rob Ash, earned the No. 2 ranking. No returning FCS player has gained more total yards during the past three years than Bobcats quarterback DeNarius McGhee, who returns for his senior season.

Sam Houston State (11-4), the two-time defending Southland Conference champion, had the No. 3 ranking despite having more first-place votes (5) than Montana State (1). Head coach Willie Fritz's Bearkats also have eliminated Montana State in the FCS quarterfinals the past two seasons on their way to back-to-back championship game appearances. They return one of the more dangerous offenses in the FCS, led by senior running back Timothy Flanders.

DeNarius-McGhee received First Team FCS
Preseason All-America honors from The
Sports Network.
Montana State Athletics

Eastern Washington (11-3) fell victim to Sam Houston State in last year's national semifinals. But the No. 4 Eagles, who won the 2010 FCS national championship and were part of a three-way tie for the Big Sky title last season, have reloaded with another talented squad, including dual-threat quarterback Vernon Adams.

Villanova (8-4) preceded Eastern Washington with the 2009 national title. Poll voters foresee the Wildcats having another deep run in the playoffs, installing them at No. 5. Head coach Andy Talley's squad also has a young standout at quarterback, John Robertson, who won the Jerry Rice Award as the FCS freshman of the year last year.

The poll had an interesting twist because voters varied on their assessment of perennial powers Georgia Southern and Appalachian State, who aren't eligible for the FCS playoffs as they spend their final season in the Southern Conference before rising to the FBS level next year. One voter installed Georgia Southern, which has been to the national semifinals in three consecutive seasons, as the preseason No. 1, but other voters left both teams off their ballots.

Thus, the rest of the top 10 consisted of No. 6 South Dakota State (9-4), which features 2012 FCS rushing leader Zach Zenner; No. 7 Central Arkansas (9-3), the defending Southland Conference co-champion; No. 8 Wofford (9-4), a reigning Southern Conference tri-champion; No. 9 Georgia Southern (10-4), which shared the SoCon title with Wofford and Appalachian State; and No. 10 New Hampshire (8-4), whose nine consecutive playoff appearances is the longest active streak in the FCS.

Up next were No. 11 Towson (7-4); No. 12 Appalachian State (8-4); No. 13 Illinois State (9-4); No. 14 Cal Poly (9-3), a Big Sky tri-champion last year; No. 15 Richmond (8-3), which earned a share of the Colonial Athletic Association title; No. 16 Stony Brook (10-3), which has earned at least a share of the past four Big South Conference titles but has switched conferences to the CAA this year; No. 17 Northern Iowa (5-6); No. 18 Northern Arizona (8-3); No. 19 James Madison (7-4); and No. 20 Montana (5-6), which will try to rebound from its first losing season since 1985.

Rounding out the Top 25 were No. 21 Eastern Illinois (7-5), the defending Ohio Valley Conference champion; No. 22 Lehigh (10-1); No. 23 Bethune-Cookman (9-3), which is coming off the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference title; No. 24 Chattanooga (6-5); and No. 25 Coastal Carolina (8-5), which earned a share of the Big South championship.

The CAA had the most teams in the poll with six, followed by the Big Sky with five and the Missouri Valley and Southern conferences with four each. The Southland Conference had two teams, and the OVC, Big South, MEAC and Patriot League each had one.

North Dakota State No. 1 in preseason coaches' poll