football-d3 flag | November 17, 2013

Field announced for Division III Football Championship

Interactive Bracket Printable Bracket Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Football Committee announced Sunday the field of 32 teams for the 2013 NCAA Division III Football Championship. The committee selected teams based on conference results and competition within an institution’s respective evaluation region.

Twenty-four conferences received automatic-qualifying berths. Three berths were reserved for true independents and those teams that are members of conferences that do not receive automatic qualification. The remaining five berths were awarded to teams from either automatic qualifying conferences that did not win an automatic berth, or the remaining true independent teams and teams in non-automatic qualifying conferences.

The first round of the championship will be played Nov. 23 at the host institution’s campus or at an alternate site approved by the football committee. The Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, the national championship game, will be played Dec. 20, at Salem Stadium in Salem, Va. The game will be broadcast live on ESNPU at 7 p.m. ET.

The following 24 conferences and their respective schools received automatic-qualifying berths:

American Southwest Conference -- Mary Hardin-Baylor
Centennial Conference -- Johns Hopkins
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin -- North Central (Ill.)
Eastern Collegiate Football Conference -- Gallaudet
Empire 8 -- Ithaca
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference -- Franklin
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Wartburg
LIberty League -- Hobart
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association -- Albion
Middle Atlantic Conferences -- Lebanon Valley
Midwest Conference -- St. Norbert
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Bethel (Minn.)
New England Football Conference -- Endicott
New Jersey Athletic Conference -- Rowan
North Coast Athletic Conference -- Wittenberg
Northern Athletics Conference -- Concordia (Wis.)
Northwest Conference -- Linfield
Ohio Athletic Conference -- Mount Union
Old Dominion Athletic Conference -- Hampden-Sydney
Presidents’ Athletic Conference -- Washington and Jefferson
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Redlands
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference -- St. Scholastica
USA South Athletic Conference -- Maryville (Tenn.)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference -- Wisconsin-Whitewater

Pool B Berths (3):

Framingham State
Washington (Mo.)

Pool C Berths (5):

Illinois Wesleyan
John Carroll
Pacific Lutheran
St. John Fisher

2013 will be Mount Union’s 25th consecutive NCAA appearance. In 2012, Mount Union defeated St. Thomas (Minn.) 28-10 for the title.




College football's longest active regular-season win streaks entering 2023

Here are the longest active regular season win streaks in college football as we go into the 2023 seasons.