football-fbs flag | December 26, 2013

History: Little Caesar's Pizza Bowl


The Little Caesar's Pizza Bowl was known as the Motor City Bowl from 1997-2009. The first five editions of the game were played at the Pontiac Silverdome. Since 2002, the game has been played at Ford Field in Detroit.

The game features the a team from the MAC against a team from the Big Ten.

Memorable moments

• The inaugural game in 1997 had future NFL stars at the forefront. Deuce McAllister's 1-yard touchdown run with 31 seconds left gave Ole Miss a 34-31 victory against Marshall. Marshall had a chance for a game-winning final drive, but Randy Moss had the ball stripped away by Ole Miss' Broc Kreitz after a 40-yard completion on the game's final play. Incidentally, Marshall would win the next three editions of this bowl.

In 2002, Boston College scored touchdowns on each of its first six possessions en route to a 51-25 win against Toledo.

• In 2007, Purdue quarterback Chris Painter threw for 543 yards and three touchdowns. The Boilermakers needed every one of them; Chris Summers kicked a 40-yard field goal as time expired to give the Boilermakers a 51-48 victory against Central Michigan.

1997Ole Miss34Marshall31
2002Boston College51Toledo25
2003Bowling Green28Northwestern24
2006Central Michigan31Middle Tennessee14
2007Purdue51Central Michigan48
2008Florida Atlantic24Central Michigan21
2011Purdue37Western Michigan32
2012Central Michigan24Western Kentucky21
2013Pittsburgh30Bowling Green27


FCS football: We picked the top-5 players of all time for Montana football

The Montana football program has won two FCS championships (1995 and 2001) and has finished as runner-up five times (1996, 2000, 2004, 2008 and 2009) in its history. The Grizzlies had 25 straight winning seasons from 1986-2011, producing transcendent players along the way. Here's a look at the top individual players in Montana history.

A way-too-early look at the 2022 DII football preseason Power 10 rankings

Spring practices are nearing in DII football. Let's take an early look at what the top-10 teams may look like come August.

FCS football: We picked the top-5 players all-time for Eastern Washington football

Eastern Washington football has a storied history filled with accolades, including the 2010 FCS national championship and an FCS-leading seven major national award winners. With such success from the Eagle program, here's a look at the top individual players in Eastern Washington history.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners