football-fbs flag | January 1, 2014

History: Capital One Bowl


Previously known as the Tangerine Bowl and the Florida Citrus Bowl, the Capital One Bowl is one of the oldest non-BCS bowls. The first game in 1947 drew 9,000 fans.

In 1952, the game earned a second name -- "The Little Bowl with the Big Heart," since all game proceeds went to charity.

In the game's early years it exclusively featured teams from the south -- and usually smaller colleges from conferences like the Ohio Valley Conference. After becoming a major bowl game, the pool of schools used grew substantially. In the 1970s, Southern Conference, SEC or even at-large schools were invited.

In the late 80s and early 90s, the ACC champion played against an at-large team. Finally, in 1992, the game became a matchup between the Big Ten and the SEC, as it is now.

Memorable moments

• Buffalo refused its invitation to the Tangerine Bowl in 1958 because the two African-American players on the team were not going to be allowed on the field. The next time the Bulls were bowl-eligible? Fifty years later, when they faced UConn in the 2008 International Bowl. (Buffalo lost that game 38-20.)

• In 1966, Morgan State became the first HBCU team to play in the Tangerine Bowl. Not only did it play, it won -- defeating West Chester to earn its second consecutive undefeated season.

• In 1973, due to delayed construction of improvements to the stadium, the game was moved to Gainesville, Fla. Why Gainesville? Florida was invited to play as an at-large team after East Carolina backed out. To lessen the financial impact, both teams were still based in Orlando, including for practices, and were bussed to Gainesville for the game.

• In the 1991 version of the game, Georgia Tech was named the UPI 1990 national champion after beating Nebraska 45-21.

• The largest attendance at this bowl happened in 1998 when Florida took on Penn State. The ironic part here is that after Tennessee had been invited to this bowl  -- which traditionally has hosted the second-place SEC team -- three of four years, then-Florida head coach Steve Spurrier joked that you "can't spell citrus without U-T." While Spurrier and the Gators were in Orlando, Tennesee was playing for the national championship in the Orange Bowl.

1949Murray State21Sul Ross State21
1950Saint Vincent7Emory & Henry6
1951Morris Harvey35Emory & Henry14
1952Stetson35Arkansas State20
1953East Texas State33Tennessee Tech0
1954Arkansas State7East Texas State7
1955Omaha7Eastern Kentucky6
1956Juniata6Missouri Valley6
1957West Texas20Southern Miss13
1958East Texas State10Southern Miss9
1958 *East Texas State26Missouri Valley7
1960Middle Tennessee21Presbyterian12
1960 *The Citadel27Tennessee Tech0
1961Lamar21Middle Tennessee14
1962Houston49Miami (Ohio)21
1963WKU27Coast Guard0
1964East Carolina14Massachusetts13
1965East Carolina31Maine0
1966Morgan State14West Chester6
1967Tennessee-Martin25West Chester8
1970Toledo40William & Mary12
1972Tampa21Kent State18
1973Miami (Ohio)16Florida7
1974Miami (Ohio)21Georgia10
1975Miami (Ohio)20South Carolina7
1976Oklahoma State49BYU21
1977Florida State40Texas Tech17
1978NC State30Pittsburgh17
1979LSU34Wake Forest10
1981Missouri19Southern Miss17
1982Auburn33Boston College26
1984Georgia17Florida State17
1985Ohio State10BYU7
1987Clemson35Penn State10
1991Georgia Tech45Nebraska21
1993Georgia21Ohio State14
1994Penn State31Tennessee13
1995Alabama24Ohio State17
1996Tennessee20Ohio State14
1998Florida21Penn State6
2000Michigan State37Florida34
2003Auburn13Penn State9
2004Georgia34Purdue27 (OT)
2009Georgia24Michigan State12
2010Penn State19LSU17
2011Alabama49Michigan State7
2012South Carolina30Nebraska13
2014South Carolina34Wisconsin24
*--Two games played that year. One in early January, one in late December.


Way-too-early 2022 FCS playoff bracket predictions

It's May and the FCS playoffs aren't until November, but that doesn't matter because we predicted the 24-team 2022 FCS playoff field anyway.

9 potential breakout FCS football teams in the 2022 season

Here's a look at the potential breakout FCS teams for the 2022 season.

Colleges and conferences with the most players drafted in the 2022 NFL draft

Georgia had 15 players selected in the NFL draft, eclipsing the previous modern-era record of 14 picks, which was set by Ohio State in the 2004 NFL draft and later tied by LSU in 2020. The Bulldogs have five defensive players selected in the first round from a unit that allowed a national-best 10.2 points per game last season.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners