football-fbs flag | December 29, 2013

History: Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl


In its two-decade history, what is now the Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl has been played at three separate venues, For its first decade, the game was played at Arizona Stadium. In 2000, it was moved to Bank One Ballpark in Phoenix and then in 2006, it relocated to Sun Devil Stadium in Tempe after the Fiesta Bowl was moved to Glendale.

The game has also been known as the Copper Bowl, the Bowl and the Insight Bowl.

Memorable moments

• The 1993 game signaled a turnaround for Kansas State, which had managing just five winning seasons in its previous 54 years. The Wildcats won big in '93, beating Wyoming 52-17.

• In 1995, Texas Tech's Byron Hanspard ran for 201 yards in the second half as the Red Raiders got a 55-41 win against Air Force.

• The 2006 bowl saw the largest comeback in FBS postseason history, as Texas Tech came back from a 38-7 third-quarter deficit to defeat Minnesota 44-41 in overtime. The Red Raiders scored 31 unanswered points in the second half to force overtime, then responded with a touchdown after the Gophers opened OT with a field goal.

1989Arizona17NC State10
1992Washington State31Utah28
1993Kansas State52Wyoming17
1995Texas Tech55Air Force41
1997Arizona20New Mexico14
1998Missouri34West Virginia31
1999Colorado62Boston College28
2000Iowa State37Pittsburgh29
2001Syracuse26Kansas State3
2002Pittsburgh38Oregon State13
2003California52Virginia Tech49
2004Oregon State38Notre Dame21
2005Arizona State45Rutgers40
2006Texas Tech44Minnesota41 (OT)
2007Oklahoma State49Indiana33
2009Iowa State14Minnesota13
2012Michigan State17TCU16
2013Kansas State31Michigan14





College football rankings: Top 25 scores, schedule for Week 9

It's Week 9 of the 2021 college football season. Here's a look at the Week 9 Top 25 schedule and scores.

College football: TV schedule and game times

Here are the college football TV schedules for every week and game times for the 2021 season.

Undefeated college football teams in 2021

Here are the last remaining undefeated teams for the 2021 season.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners