football-fcs flag

FCS Athletic Directors Association | January 3, 2014

Garoppolo, Daly headline FCS ADA winners

CLEVELAND – The Division I Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA), in coordination with the 13 FCS conference offices, have announced the inaugural Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year for the 2013 season. Offensively, Eastern Illinois quarterback Jimmy Garoppolo took home the top honor and defensively, Montana State defensive end Brad Daly earned the hardware.

Garoppolo and Daly will be recognized during a presentation this Saturday, Jan. 4, at the NCAA Division I Football Championship in Frisco, Texas. See below for statistical information on both players.

Jimmy Garoppolo

2013 Walter Payton Award Winner ... Led all Division I players in passing yards (5,050) and TD passes (53) ... Set OVC season and career records for passing yards, total offense and touchdowns ... Recorded 11 games with 300-plus yards and 5 games with 400-plus yards; threw multiple touchdowns in 13 of 14 games, including 10 games with 3 or more TD passes. Only 9 interceptions in 568 attempts ... Ranks 3rd on the FCS single-season passing touchdowns list, 6th on the career passing touchdowns list, 2nd on the single-season passing yards list and 7th on the career passing yards list.

Brad Daly

Became the second consecutive Montana State defensive end to win the Buck Buchanan Award, which honors the outstanding defensive player in the FCS … Named the Big Sky Conference Co-Defensive Player of the Year … Led the FCS with 14 sacks, all solo, and 20.5 tackles for loss, 20 solo, during the regular season ... His sacks per game (1.2) ranks second in the nation. His tackles for loss per game (1.7) rank third in the nation ... Tallied 68 total tackles, seven QB hurries, two blocked kicks, two forced fumble, a fumble recovery and an interception.

Garoppolo and Daly were selected from the 11 players listed below, who were previously honored with the FCS ADA All-America Award, which recognizes the top student-athletes from FCS institutions at 11 different positions.

QBJimmy GaroppoloEastern Illinois
RBTerrance WestTowson
OLBilly TurnerNorth Dakota State
TEMyCole PruittSouthern Illinois
WRErik LoraEastern Illinois
DLBrad DalyMontana State
LBStephon RobertsonJames Madison
DBDaniel FitzpatrickTennessee State
PKSeth SebastianSoutheastern Louisiana
PKyle LoomisPortland State
RSXavier RobersonSoutheastern Louisiana

Here's what you might have missed from the FCS transfer portal

Plenty of FCS rosters will have a new look this fall after players moved in and out of the transfer portal all offseason.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners