football-fbs flag

Wisconsin-Whitewater Athletics | December 1, 2014

On the move

  Leipold led Wisconsin-Whitewater to six NCAA DIII championship games, winning five of them.

Wisconsin-Whitewater football head coach Lance Leipold has accepted the position of head football coach at Buffalo, a Football Bowl Subdivision school.

"I'd like to congratulate Coach Leipold on being named the next head football coach at the University at Buffalo," Wisconsin-Whitewater Chancellor Richard J. Telfer said. "It is a tribute to his hard work and excellent performance both on and off the football field. I think I speak for many Warhawks when I say that we are proud of him and we wish him all the best.

Year by Year
Year Record
2007 14-1
2008 13-2
2009 15-0
2010 15-0
2011 15-0
2012 7-3
2013 15-0
"I'd also like to thank him for all that he's done for our student-athletes during his time at UW-Whitewater. He took a strong program and made it a national powerhouse in Division III. I am confident he will do well at the University at Buffalo. I am also confident that he will be focused on winning this Saturday against Wartburg."

"I will be finishing this season and will be there as we prepare to take on an excellent Wartburg team this Saturday," Leipold said. "My focus remains with this program and our student-athletes, and on our goal of winning a national championship."

Leipold, a 1987 Whitewater graduate, currently owns a 106-6 career record as a head coach. He led the program to five national championships and, earlier this season, became the fastest head coach in NCAA history to reach 100 career wins.

A four-time Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Coach of the Year and five-time American Football Coaches Association Division III National Coach of the Year, Leipold entered the 2014 season with the highest winning percentage among active coaches in college football. Last season, he became one of two coaches at any level to earn five America Football Coaches Association Coach of the Year honors.

Under Leipold, the Warhawks won seven Wiscosnin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference championships and reached the Stagg Bowl national championship game six times.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners