football-fbs flag | July 8, 2015

2015 John Mackey Award preseason watch list released

The John Mackey Award has released its 2015 Preseason Watch List. The  trophy is given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, as determained by a vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The award has honored the top tight end since its inception in 2000. This year's list includes 33 of the best tight ends in the nation. Last year's award winner was Florida State's Nick O'Leary. Thirteen of the previous award winners have moved on to the NFL.

The ACC leads the watch list with seven nominees, followed by the SEC with six and the Big Ten with five student-athletes on the watch list.

2015 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List
Name Year School
Jerell Adams Sr. South Carolina
Jake Butt Jr. Michigan
Kyle Carter Sr. Penn St
Kivon Cartwright Sr. Colorado St
Jalen Cope-Fitzpatrick Jr. USC
Alan Cross Sr. Memphis
Braxton Deaver Sr. Duke
Jake Duzey Sr. Iowa
Evan Engram Jr. Ole Miss
Billy Freeman Jr. San Jose St.
Jarred Gipson Jr. Nevada
David Grinnage Jr. NC State
Darion Griswold Sr. Arkansas St
Hunter Henry Jr. Arkansas
Tyler Higbee Sr. WKU
Bucky Hodges So. Virginia Tech
J.P. Holtz Sr. Pittsburgh
Austin Hooper So. Stanford
O.J. Howard Jr. Alabama
Jordan Leggett  Jr. Clemson
Ryan Malleck Sr Virginia Tech Sr. Virginia Tech
Jake McGee Sr Florida Sr. Florida
Johnny Mundt Jr Oregon Jr. Oregon
Joshua Perkins Sr Washington Sr. Washington
Jake Phillips Sr UNLV Sr. UNLV
Josiah Price Jr Michigan St Jr. Michigan State
Sean Price Sr USF Sr. USF
Joel Ruiz Sr Georgia State Sr. Georgia State
Steven Scheu Sr Vanderbilt Sr. Vanderbilt
Cam Serigne  So. Wake Forest
Jonnu Smith  Jr. FIU
Nick Vannett  Sr. Ohio State
Steven Walker  Sr. Colorado State
Bryce Williams Sr. East Carolina

The story of the first-ever night football game, in 1892

On Wednesday, Sept. 28, 1892, two teams โ€” and a giant generator โ€” got together for another revolutionary moment in the sport: The first American football game at night. Here's the story of that game.

Georgia vs. Notre Dame: Prediction, preview, how to watch

Georgia and Notre Dame play for only the third time this Saturday. Here's our prediction, game preview and how you can watch the top-10 game.

North Dakota State vs. UC Davis: Preview, how to watch the top-4 FCS battle

No. 1 North Dakota State and No. 4 UC Davis meet in Fargo this weekend in the first top-5 matchup of the 2019 FCS football season. Here's what you need to know before Saturday afternoon's clash.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners