football-fbs flag

Eric Vander Voort | | July 10, 2015

Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list announced

The preseason watch list for the 2015 Bronko Nagurski Trophy was released on Friday by the Football Writers Association of America. Eighty-eight players were named to the list.

Named for former Minnesota standout Bronislaw "Bronko" Nagurski, a charter member of both the College Football Hall of Fame and Pro Football Hall of Fame, the trophy goes to college football's best defensive player as judged by the FWAA All-America Committee.

MORE: Preseason Watch List Central | Official Release

Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright is the 2014 winner and has a chance to become the second repeat winner in the award's 22-year history, after Northwestern's Pat Fitzgerald in 1995-96. The SEC led the way on this year's list with 20 players representing the conference.

The five finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 19, and the winner at the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet on Dec. 7.

Dominique Alexander, Oklahoma, LB Jordan Lucas, Penn State, DB
Jonathan Allen, Alabama, DE Luther Maddy, Virginia Tech, DT
Budda Baker, Washington, DB Curt Maggitt, Tennessee, LB
Dante Barnett, Kansas State, DB Corey Marshall, Virginia Tech, DT
Derek Barnett, Tennessee, DE Blake Martinez, Stanford, LB
Kendell Beckwith, LSU, LB Tyler Matakevich, Temple, LB
Vonn Bell, Ohio State, DB Danzel McDaniel, Kansas State, DB
Vince Biegel, Wisconsin, LB Adrian McDonald, Houston, DB
Andrew Billings, Baylor, DT Cassanova McKinzy, Auburn, LB
Quin Blanding, Virginia, DB Jalen Mills, LSU, DB
Briean Boddy-Calhoun, Minnesota, DB Fabian Moreau, UCLA, DB
Joey Bosa, Ohio State, DE Antonio Morrison, Florida, LB
Kentrell Brothers, Missouri, LB Eric Murray, Minnesota, DB
DeForest Buckner, Oregon, DE Dadi Nicolas, Virginia Tech, DE
James Burgess, Louisville, LB Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss, DT
Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State, DE Jared Norris, Utah, LB
Maurice Canady, Virginia, DB Shawn Oakman, Baylor, DE
Michael Caputo, Wisconsin, DB Pat O'Connor, Eastern Michigan, DE
Jeremy Cash, Duke, DB Emmanuel Ogbah, Oklahoma State, DE
Kenny Clark, UCLA, DT Drew Ott, Iowa, DE
Maliek Collins, Nebraska, DT Joshua Perry, Ohio State, LB
Tony Conner, Ole Miss, DB Reggie Ragland, Alabama, LB
Kamalei Correa, Boise State, DE Jalen Ramsey, Florida State, DB
Su'a Cravens, USC, LB Sheldon Rankins, Louisville, DE
Sheldon Day, Notre Dame, DT Will Redmond, Mississippi State, DB
Ken Ekanem, Virginia Tech, DE Pete Robertson, Texas Tech, DE
Kyler Fackrell, Utah State, LB A'Shawn Robinson, Alabama, DT
Leonard Floyd, Georgia, LB KeiVarae Russell, Notre Dame, DB
Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech, DB Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma, DB
Myles Garrett, Texas A&M, DE Jovan Santos-Knox, Massachusetts, LB
Adam Gotsis, Georgia Tech, DT Joe Schmidt, Notre Dame, LB
Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida, DB Ian Seau, Nevada, DE
Myles Jack, UCLA, LB Terrance Smith, Florida State, LB
William Jackson, Houston, DB Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame, LB
Adoreé Jackson, USC, DB Eric Striker, Oklahoma, LB
Jordan Jenkins, Georgia, DE Charles Tapper, Oklahoma, DE
Gerrand Johnson, ULM, DT Darian Thompson, Boise State, DB
Jonathan Jones, Auburn, DB Jeremy Timpf, Army, LB
Chris Jones, Mississippi State, DT Travis Tuiloma, BYU, DT
Karl Joseph, West Virginia, DB Adolphus Washington, Ohio State, DT
Bronson Kaufusi, BYU, DE Xavier Woods, Louisiana Tech, DB
Carl Lawson Auburn, DE Scooby Wright III, Arizona, LB
Darron Lee, Ohio State, LB Ronald Zamort, Western Michigan, DB
William Likely, Maryland, DB Anthony Zettel, Penn State, DT
By conference: SEC 20, Big Ten 15, ACC 13, Big 12 11, Pac-12 10, Independents 7, Mountain West 4, American Athletic 3, Mid-American 3, Conference USA 1, Sun Belt 1.
By position: Tackles 14, Ends 20, Linebackers 25, Backs 29.
Players may be added or removed from the list before or during the season


Making sense of FCS conference realignment

Here's a breakdown of the many changes to the FCS football landscape in the upcoming seasons amid major conference realignment.

3 single-game FCS records that could be next to fall

As the FCS evolves, once-untouchable records are now in reach. Here are three single-game FCS records that could be next to fall.

Here is every FCS vs FBS game scheduled for 2022

In 2022, there are over 100 FCS vs. FBS games scheduled as of June 22. Check them out here.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners