football-fbs flag

The Wuerffel Trophy | July 15, 2015

2015 Wuerffel Trophy watch list announced with 80 names up for consideration

FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. -- The Wuerffel Trophy announced its watch list on Wednesday of 80 players from college football’s Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach, Florida. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

• Complete list of FBS preseason watch lists

The Atlantic Coast Conference led all conferences with 15 players appearing on the 2015 watch list. Following the ACC are the Big 12 with 10 players, the American Athletic and Sun Belt with 9 each, the SEC and the Pac-12 with 8 each, the Big Ten and Conference USA with 5 each, and the MAC and Mountain West following with 4 each. All FBS Conferences are represented on the list, as were Independent representatives Notre Dame and United States Military Academy (Army) with 2 and 1 nominees, respectively. There are 13 nominees who were underclassmen in 2014 that are rejoining the watch list again this year.

Voting for the Wuerffel Trophy is performed by a National Selection Committee that includes college football television and print media, industry notables, former head coaches and prior Wuerffel Trophy recipients.


Doug Middleton, Appalachian State, Senior, DB
Casey Skowron, Arizona, Senior, K
Mike Bercovici, Arizona State, Senior, QB
Brooks Ellis, Arkansas, Junior, LB
Fredi Knighten, Arkansas State, Senior, QB
Kyle Ricciardi, Army, Senior, LB
Spencer Drango, Baylor, Senior, OL
Shane Williams-Rhodes, Boise State, Senior, WR
Justin Simmons, Boston College, Senior, DB
Christian Piazza, Bowling Green, Senior, OL
Taysom Hill, BYU, Senior, QB
Stefan McClure, California, Senior, DB
Trent Matthews, Colorado State, Senior, DB
Andreas Knappe, Connecticut, Junior, OL
Kelby Brown, Duke, Senior, LB
Jaquez Johnson, Florida Atlantic, Senior, QB
Jonnu Smith, Florida International, Junior, TE
Roberto Aguayo, Florida State, Junior, K
Jordan Jenkins, Georgia, Senior, LB
Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia, Senior, WR
Matt Dobson, Georgia Southern, Senior, DB
Keshun Freeman, Georgia Tech, Sophomore, DE
Adrian McDonald, Houston, Senior, DB
Nate Sudfeld, Indiana, Senior, QB
Levi Peters, Iowa State, Junior, LB
Fish Smithson, Kansas, Junior, DB
Jordan Shelley-Smith, Kansas, Junior, OL
Dante Barnett, Kansas State, Senior, DB
Jordan Italiano, Kent State, Senior, DB
Landon Foster, Kentucky, Senior, P
Evan Tatford, Louisiana (Lafayette), Senior, TE
James Burgess, Louisville, Senior, LB
Jamie Keehn, LSU, Senior, P
Blake Frohnapfel, Massachusetts, Senior, QB
Wynton McManis, Memphis, Senior, LB
Dallas Crawford, Miami, Senior, DB
Josiah Price, Michigan State, Junior, TE
Peter Mortell, Minnesota, Senior, P
Dak Prescott, Mississippi State, Senior, QB
Myer Krah, Navy, Senior, LB
Don Jackson, Nevada, Senior, RB
Andrew Cunningham, New Mexico State, Senior, OL
Corey Robinson, Notre Dame, Junior, WR
Joe Schmidt, Notre Dame, Senior, LB
Shakeel Rashad, North Carolina, Senior, LB
Tony Adams, North Carolina State, Sophomore, OL
Bryce Haynes, Ohio State, Senior, Long Snapper
Joshua Perry, Ohio State, Senior, LB
Trevor Knight, Oklahoma, Junior, QB
Ty Darlington, Oklahoma, Senior, C
Tyler Compton, Old Dominion, Junior, C
Will Hopkins, Oregon State, Sophomore, OL
Adam Bisnowaty, Pittsburgh, Junior, OL
Chad Voytik, Pittsburgh, Junior, QB
James Conner, Pittsburgh, Junior, RB
James Farrimond, Rice, Senior, P
Cameron Smith, SMU, Senior, DL
Aleem Sunanon, South Alabama, Junior, K
Riley Dixon, Syracuse, Senior, P
Joey Hunt, TCU, Senior, C
Hershey Walton, Temple, Senior, DT
Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee, Junior, QB
Julien Obioha, Texas A&M, Senior, DE
Brian Guendling, Texas State, Junior, DE
Justis Nelson, Texas Tech, Junior, DB
Tommy Blevins, Troy, Senior, TE
Richard Carthon, Tulane, Senior, DB
Michael Mudoh, Tulsa, Senior, DB
Jake Brendel, UCLA, Senior,OL
Cody Kessler, USC, Senior, QB
Mattias Ciabatti, USF, Senior, P
Kenneth Scott, Utah, Senior, WR
Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, Senior, QB
Aaron Jones, UTEP, Junior, RB
Demetrious Nicholson, Virginia, Senior, DB
Luther Maddy, Virginia Tech, Senior, DB
Zach Terrell, W. Michigan, Junior, QB
Ryan Janvion, Wake Forest, Junior, DB
Jeremiah Allison, Washington State, Senior, LB
Terrell Chestnut, West Virginia, Senior, CB

Way-too-early 2022 FCS playoff bracket predictions

It's May and the FCS playoffs aren't until November, but that doesn't matter because we predicted the 24-team 2022 FCS playoff field anyway.

9 potential breakout FCS football teams in the 2022 season

Here's a look at the potential breakout FCS teams for the 2022 season.

Colleges and conferences with the most players drafted in the 2022 NFL draft

Georgia had 15 players selected in the NFL draft, eclipsing the previous modern-era record of 14 picks, which was set by Ohio State in the 2004 NFL draft and later tied by LSU in 2020. The Bulldogs have five defensive players selected in the first round from a unit that allowed a national-best 10.2 points per game last season.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners