football-fbs flag

Gerard Gilberto | | August 9, 2015

Pro Football HOF

  Most of the 2015 Hall of Fame class gathers on Friday night for the enshrinees gold jacket dinner.

The members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame's class of 2015 were selected earlier this year on Jan. 31, but the bronze bust of the eight men selected will be enshrined at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium in Canton, Ohio on Saturday night.

Of the eight members of the 2015 class, seven played Division I football and the eighth -- Ron Wolf -- played baseball at Division III Maryville in Tennessee.

Joining Wolf in the 2015 class is James Madison's Charles Haley, the Nebraska duo of Will Shields and Mick Tingelhoff, former NFL executive and NYU safety Bill Polian, Tim Brown and Jerome Bettis of Notre Dame and the late Junior Seau from Southern California.

The enshrinement ceremony is scheduled for 7 p.m. on Saturday.

Charles Haley, DE -- James Madison (1982-1985)

Haley is a local Virginian that attended James Madison in 1982. When he left the school after the 1985 season, he was a two-time All-American and the Duke’s all-time leader in tackles with 506.

Will Shields, G -- Nebraska (1989-1992)

Shields continued the Nebraska tradition of drawing on the importance of the big men by becoming the school’s fifth different Outland Trophy recipient in his senior season in 1992. The Huskers have a total of nine Outland Trophies, claimed by eight different players.

Mick Tingelhoff, C -- Nebraska (1958-1961)

Tingelhoff was not a hall of fame-caliber college player but his 17-year NFL career is good for the second longest professional football tenure for a Nebraska alumnus, second only to Ron McDole.

Related: Nebraska Pillars of the Program

Bill Polian, S -- NYU (1961-1964)

Born and raised in The Bronx, New York, Polian was a safety at NYU in the mid-60’s under coach Bob Windish. Although the program is no longer in commission, NYU football is one of the pioneering members of the sport.

Jerome Bettis, RB -- Notre Dame (1990-1992)

“The Bus” made it out of a rough upbringing in Detroit and rushed for 1,912 yards in his career at Notre Dame. He set the school record for individual touchdowns in his sophomore season with 16 rushing and 4 receiving.

Tim Brown, WR -- Notre Dame (1984-1987)

In 1987, “Timmy Touchdown” Brown was the first wide receiver to win the Heisman Trophy. He was the first African-American and seventh player from Notre Dame to win the award. His career mark of 5,024 all-purpose yards is the most all-time in Notre Dame history.

Related: Notre Dame Pillars of the Program

Junior Seau, LB -- Southern California (1987-1989)

The late Seau was one of the original members of USC’s “55 club,” which reserves the uniform number 55 for a leader on a team. In his senior season in 1989, Seau had 19 sacks, 27 tackles for a loss and was a unanimous All-American selection.

Related: Southern California Pillars of the Program

2023 Notre Dame football schedule: Dates, times, TV channels, scores

Take a look at Notre Dame's complete football schedule, featuring dates, times, TV information and results. This will be updated all season long.

College basketball's 9 winningest teams

Here are the top nine college basketball programs in terms of all-time wins.

The winningest DI men's college basketball programs from every state

These are the winningest Division I men's college basketball program in every state, ranked by total number of wins and winning percentage.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners