football-fbs flag

Austin R. Vaughn | | December 12, 2015

Heisman Trophy ceremony: TV channel and more things to know

Hand Him The.. 2015 Finalists

On Satuday night, a new member will be inducted into college football's most exclusive and most prestigious fraternity -- the brotherhood of Heisman Trophy winners.

The Heisman Memorial Trophy is presented each year to the most outstanding individual player in college football. The 80th Heisman Trophy Winner will be crowned tonight (7 p.m. Eastern on ESPN) and will find themselves in pretty good company. Former Heisman Winners include NFL stars (Roger Staubach, Earl Campbell, Cam Newton), award namesakes (Davey O'Brien, Doak Walker) and, of course, college football icons (Bo Jackson, Herschel Walker, Doug Flutie).

So, before No. 80 goes down in history, here are five things to know on each of the three finalists:

Christian McCaffrey, Sophomore, Running Back, Stanford

-McCaffrey's father is Ed McCaffrey who was an All-American wide receiver at Stanford and won three Super Bowls during a 13-year career in the NFL.

-McCaffrey broke the NCAA record for all-purpose yards in a season in 2015, a record which was previously held by 1988 Heisman Trophy Winner Barry Sanders.

-At an even 6 feet and 201 lbs., McCaffrey is the smallest of this year's Heisman Trophy Finalists.

-If McCaffrey wins, he will become the second Heisman Trophy Winner in Stanford history. Jim Plunkett won in 1970.

-One of McCaffrey's eight 2015 touchdowns came from a 98-yard kickoff return.

Deshaun Watson, Sophomore, Quarterback, Clemson

-Hailing from Gainesville, Georgia, Watson could become the fifth Heisman Trophy Winner from the state.

-Watson was named the No. 1 quarterback of the 2014 class by ESPN.

-Watson could become the sixth straight quarterback to win the Heisman Trophy.

-In his freshman season, Watson broke his collar bone and tore his ACL, and he recovered quickly to unleash a Heisman-caliber season the year after.

-If Watson wins, he would become the first Heisman Trophy winner from Clemson.

Derrick Henry, Junior, Running Back, Alabama

-In the SEC Championship, Henry broke Herschel Walker's SEC record for rushing yards in a season.

-Henry's lowest rushing total this season was 95 yards against Arkansas.

-The last running back to win the Heisman (Mark Ingram) also played for Alabama.

-If Henry wins, he will become the 14th Heisman Trophy winner from the Southeastern Conference.

-Henry is on pace to break the SEC record of 23 rushing touchdowns in a season. He tied the record --shared with Tim Tebow and Tre Mason-- in the SEC Championship game.

College football preview for 2022 season: Bleacher Report's Adam Kramer makes predictions for next season

Bleacher Report college football senior writer Adam Kramer joins NCAA Digital's Michella Chester to take a look at what fans can expect ahead of the 2022 season.

College baseball rankings: Tulane, Clemson, Gonzaga enter poll

Texas remains No. 1 in the D1Baseball Top 25 rankings after going 2-1 at the Shriners College Classic, with a pair of wins over ranked SEC powers Tennessee and LSU. See the full top 25.

Tee Higgins' Clemson career: College football stats, highlights, records

Here's everything you need to know about Cincinnati Bengals wide receiver Tee Higgins' college career.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners