football-fbs flag | January 1, 2016

New Year's Six bowl schedule

In this second year of the College Football Playoff, the Orange Bowl and Cotton Bowl take centerstage as the national semifinals. Below are the matchups for all of the "New Year's Six" bowls on Dec. 31 and Jan. 1.

For a look at all of the other bowls spanning from Dec. 19 to Jan. 2, go here.

Georgia Dome | Atlanta, Ga.
Noon ET Dec. 31 | ESPN

No. 18 Houston 38, No. 9 Florida State 24

Sun Life Stadium | Miami Gardens, Fla.
4 p.m. ET Dec. 31 | ESPN

No. 1 Clemson 37, No. 4 Oklahoma 17

AT&T Stadium | Arlington, Texas
8 p.m. ET Dec. 31 | ESPN

No. 2 Alabama 38, No. 3 Michigan State 0

University of Phoenix Stadium | Glendale, Ariz.
1 p.m. ET Jan. 1 | ESPN

No. 8 Notre Dame (10-2) vs. No. 7 Ohio State (11-1)

Series: Ohio State leads 3-2
Last Meeting: 2006 | Ohio State 34, Notre Dame 20
Notre Dame Fighting Irish Bowl History: 17-17 Last: Music City Bowl (2014) | W vs. LSU, 31-28
Ohio State Buckeyes Bowl History: 21-24 Last: College Football Playoff Championship (2015) | W vs. Oregon, 42-20

Rose Bowl | Pasadena, Calif.
5 p.m. ET Jan. 1 | ESPN

No. 6 Stanford (11-2) vs. No. 5 Iowa (12-1)

Series: First meeting
Stanford Cardinal Bowl History: 12-11-1 Last: Foster Farms Bowl (2014) | W vs. Maryland, 45-21
Iowa Hawkeyes Bowl History: 14-13-1 Last: TaxSlayer Bowl (2015) | L vs. Tennessee, 45-28

Mercedes-Benz Superdome, New Orleans, La.
8:30 p.m. ET Jan. 1 | ESPN

No. 16 Oklahoma State (10-2) vs. No. 12 Mississippi (9-3)

Series: Ole Miss leads 2-0
Last Meeting: 2010 | Ole Miss 21, Oklahoma State 7
Oklahoma State Cowboys Bowl History: 16-9-1 Last: Cactus Bowl (2015) | W vs. Washington, 30-22
Mississippi Rebels Bowl History: 23-13 Last: Peach Bowl (2014) | L vs. TCU, 42-3

Everything Michigan head coach Jim Harbaugh said about the upcoming season at Big Ten media days

Michigan head coach Jim Harbaugh spoke at the Big Ten media day on Friday. Here's what he said.

Penn State's James Franklin talks quarterbacks and program standards at Big Ten media days

Finishing at No. 17 in the AP top 25 and ranked No. 12 in the final CFP rankings, Penn State enters the fall coming off a 9-4 season where the Nittany Lions were 3-0 in non-conference play. Penn State head coach James Franklin spoke at Big Ten media days on Friday. Here's everything he said.

College football: Longest active win streaks going into the 2019 season for FBS

Clemson has the longest active win streak in FBS football going into the 2019 college football season. Here's the list of the other longest streaks.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners