football-fbs flag

John Mackey Award | July 6, 2016

2016 John Mackey Award preseason watch list announced

NEW YORK – The Friends of John Mackey have released the 2016 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2016 Mackey Award recipient will be announced on Dec. 7, 2016 and then presented live on Dec. 8 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

MORE: Check here for full preseason watch lists

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, recognizes fourteen alumni that have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (β€˜01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (β€˜02), Kellen Winslow II (β€˜03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (β€˜04), Marcedes Lewis (β€˜05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (β€˜06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis (β€˜07), Chase Coffman (β€˜08), D.J. Williams (β€˜10), Dwayne Allen (’11) of the Indianapolis Colts, Tyler Eifert (’12) of the Cincinnati Bengals, Austin Seferian-Jenkins (’13) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Nick O’Leary (’14) of the Buffalo Bills and 2015 John Mackey Award recipient Hunter Henry of the San Diego Chargers.

Name School Yr.
Jeb Blazevich Georgia Jr.
Pharaoh Brown Oregon Sr.
Barrett Burns Appalachian St. Sr.
Jake Butt Michigan Sr.
Cethan Carter Nebraska Sr.
Connor Cella Rice Sr.
CJ Conrad Kentucky So.
Buck Cowan Idaho Sr.
Darrell Daniels Washington Sr.
Elkanah Dillon USF So.
DJ Dowdy Cincinnati Sr.
Evan Engram Ole Miss Sr.
Gerald Everett South Alabama Sr.
Billy Freeman San Jose St. Sr.
Mike Gesicki Penn State Jr.
Jarred Gipson Nevada Sr.
DeAndre Goolsby Florida Jr.
Cole Hikutini Louisville Sr.
Bucky Hodges Virginia Tech Jr.
Wyatt Houston Utah State Sr.
OJ Howard Alabama Sr.
Ryan Izzo Florida State So.
Blake Jarwin Oklahoma State Sr.
Ben Johnson Kansas Jr.
Alize Jones Notre Dame So.
George Kittle Iowa Sr.
Kody Kohl Arizona State Sr.
Jordan Leggett Clemson Sr.
Brandon Lingen Minnesota Jr.
Troy Mangen Ohio Jr.
Hayden Plinke UTEP Sr.
Josiah Price Michigan State Sr.
Michael Roberts Toledo Sr.
Jake Roh Boise State Jr.
Keith Rucker Georgia St. Sr.
Mason Schreck Buffalo Sr.
Dalton Schultz Stanford So.
Cam Serigne Wake Forest Jr.
Jonnu Smith FIU Sr.
Jeremy Sprinkle Arkansas Sr.
Todd Stafford Massachusetts Jr.
Colin Thompson Temple Sr.
Cody Tuttle Eastern Michigan Jr.
Ethan Wolf Tennessee Jr.
Ryan Yurachek Marshall Jr.

The top HBCU football prospects in the 2023 NFL draft

It's time to see who could be the next HBCU prospects to land at the next level. Let's take a look at the top HBCU prospects in the 2023 cycle.

Breaking down the 2023 HBCU Legacy Bowl rosters, how to watch and more

Here's a breakdown of the 2023 HBCU Legacy Bowl rosters, by position, conference and more.

Super Bowl MVPs by college

A look at where every Super Bowl MVP went to college and which college has the most MVP's.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners