football-fbs flag

Lou Groza Award | July 7, 2016

Lou Groza Award announces watch list for nation's top kicker

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – This year marks the 25th Anniversary of the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award. The celebration presented by the Orange Bowl Committee will recognize three finalists at a gala awards banquet in Palm Beach County on Dec. 5. This year's watch list is headlined by three past finalists, 19 former semifinalists, and some of the best emerging talent in college football. It’s a highly competitive year on the 30-player Watch List for the 2016 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, as announced by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission.

Last year’s winner, Ka’imi Fairbairn, is now a Houston Texan, making this the first season since 2012 that the reigning Groza winner does not return to defend the honor. But last year’s two other finalists, Auburn junior Daniel Carlson and Memphis senior Jake Elliott, are back to vie for the award once again. West Virginia senior Josh Lambert, who was a finalist in 2014, makes it three former finalists to look out for.

They are joined by 16 other kickers who have previously been named semifinalists, including Utah senior Andy Phillips, who has earned the honor in each of his first three years. To put that consistency in perspective, Elliott, Cincinnati junior Andrew Gantz and Arizona State senior Zane Gonzalez are the only other active kickers who have been semifinalists even twice.

MORE: Check here for full preseason watch lists

Ten kickers return to FBS coming off seasons in which they attempted at least 15 field goals and made them at a rate of at least 85%, and all 10 made the Watch List: Oregon junior Aidan Schneider (91.7), Nevada senior Brent Zuzo (89.5), UConn senior Bobby Puyol (88.9), Notre Dame sophomore Justin Yoon (88.2), Texas Tech sophomore Clayton Hatfield (87.5), North Carolina senior Nick Weiler (87.0), California junior Matt Anderson (85.7), Carlson (85.2), Phillips (85.2) and Idaho senior Austin Rehkow (85.2).

Among returning kickers who made at least 70% of their field goals, 11 kicked at least seven from 40 or more yards out, all of whom made the Watch List: Nebraska junior Drew Brown (13), Virginia Tech junior Joey Slye (13), Elliott (10), Miami (FL) junior Michael Badgley (8), Carlson (8), Phillips (8), Boise State senior Tyler Rausa (8), Rehkow (8), Gantz (7), Alabama senior Adam Griffith (7) and Minnesota junior Ryan Santoso (7).

While nearly all of the Watch List members are upperclassmen, four sophomores earned their way on after stellar freshman years, including Clemson’s Greg Huegel, who led the nation in field goals (27) and points (138). Huegel is joined by Hatfield, Oklahoma’s Austin Seibert and Yoon.

Matt Anderson California
Michael Badgley Miami (Fla.)
Jonathan Barnes Louisiana Tech
Drew Brown Nebraska
Daniel Carlson Auburn
Trent Domingue LSU
Jake Elliott Memphis
Elliott Fry South Carolina
Andrew Gantz Cincinnati
Zane Gonzalez Arizona State
Adam Griffith Alabama
Ben Grogan Oklahoma State
Clayton Hatfield Texas Tech
Greg Huegel Clemson
Josh Lambert West Virginia
Cole Murphy Syracuse
Griffin Oakes Indiana
Andy Phillips Utah
Bobby Puyol Connecticut
Tyler Rausa Boise State
Austin Rehkow Idaho
Ryan Santoso Minnesota
Aidan Schneider Oregon
Austin Siebert Oklahoma
Joey Slye Virginia Tech
Nick Smith Marshall
Cameron Van Winkle Washington
Nick Weiler North Carolina
Justin Yoon Notre Dame
Brent Zuzo Nevada

While the watch list highlights 30 of the best returning kickers in the country, the Groza Committee will be watching all FBS kickers during the season and release a weekly “Stars of the Week” feature on All FBS kickers remain eligible to be selected as semifinalists.

Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award will announce its 20 semifinalists on Thursday, Nov. 3. From this list, a panel of more than 100 FBS head coaches, SIDs, media members, former Groza finalists and current NFL kickers selects the top three finalists for the award by Tuesday, Nov. 22. That same group then selects the national winner, who will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 8 during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

The award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou “The Toe” Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an All-Pro offensive lineman as well, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.

For more information on the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award and to see the “Stars of the Week” throughout the season, please go to

The top HBCU football prospects in the 2023 NFL draft

It's time to see who could be the next HBCU prospects to land at the next level. Let's take a look at the top HBCU prospects in the 2023 cycle.

Breaking down the 2023 HBCU Legacy Bowl rosters, how to watch and more

Here's a breakdown of the 2023 HBCU Legacy Bowl rosters, by position, conference and more.

Super Bowl MVPs by college

A look at where every Super Bowl MVP went to college and which college has the most MVP's.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners