football-fbs flag

FWAA | July 8, 2016

2016 Outland Trophy watch list announced

DALLAS — The Football Writers Association of America announced its 2016 Outland Trophy Watch List on Friday, with 70 standout interior linemen from all 10 FBS conferences represented.

The SEC (12) led all conferences, followed by the Big Ten (11), ACC (10), Pac-12 (10), Big 12 (6), American Athletic (4), Conference USA (4), Independents (4), Mountain West (4), Mid-American (3) and Sun Belt (2).

Complete list: College football preseason watch lists

The list includes 22 offensive tackles, 20 offensive guards, 17 defensive tackles and 11 centers. It can be trimmed or enlarged during the regular season as players emerge or drop out of play.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

Outland Trophy watch list
Player School
DT Montravius Adams Auburn
C Brian Allen Michigan State
OT Zach Banner USC
OT Adam Bisnowaty Pittsburgh
G Chris Borrayo California
C J.T. Boyd East Carolina
OT Orlando Brown Oklahoma
C Mason Cole Michigan
G Parker Collins Appalachian State
OT Austin Corbett Nevada
OT Tyrell Crosby Oregon
G Tyrone Crowder Clemson
OT Dion Dawkins Temple
OT J.J. Dielman Utah
G Pat Elflein Ohio State
G Dan Feeney Indiana
C Kyle Fuller Baylor
OT Antonio Garcia Troy
DT Will Geary Kansas State
OT Avery Gennesy Texas A&M
DT Davon Godchaux LSU
C Jay Guillermo Clemson
DT Darius Hamilton Rutgers
OT Jon Heck North Carolina
DT Treyvon Hester Toledo
G Daniel Isidora Miami
G Martez Ivey Florida
OT Roderick Johnson Florida State
G Dorian Johnson Pittsburgh
DT Jaleel Johnson Iowa
DT Jarron Jones Notre Dame
G Alex Kozan Auburn
OT Forrest Lamp Western Kentucky
G Ului Lapuaho BYU
C Nick Linder Miami
DT Lowell Lotulelei Utah
OT Erik Magnuson Michigan
G Damien Mama USC
OT Conor McDermott UCLA
DT Malik McDowell Michigan State
OT Mike McGlinchey Notre Dame
OT Taylor Moton Western Michigan
OT Storm Norton Toledo
DT Larry Ogunjobi Charlotte
C Tyler Orlosky West Virginia
C Ethan Pocic LSU
G Billy Price Ohio State
G Greg Pyke Georgia
DT Jake Replogle Purdue
OT Cam Robinson Alabama
G Chase Roullier Wyoming
G Nico Siragusa San Diego State
OT Dan Skipper Arkansas
DT Tashon Smallwood Arizona State
DT Tanzel Smart Tulane
G Braden Smith Auburn
G Chris Taylor Tulane
DT Vincent Taylor Oklahoma State
G Wyatt Teller Virginia Tech
C Cameron Tom Southern Miss
C Jon Toth Kentucky
DT Travis Tuiloma BYU
OT Clint Van Horn Marshall
DT Eddie Vanderdoes UCLA
C Dan Voltz Wisconsin
DT Carlos Watkins Clemson
OT Chad Wheeler USC
G Dylan Wiesman Tennessee
OT Connor Williams Texas
G Fred Zerblis Colorado State

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Thurs., Nov. 17. Five days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 71st Outland Trophy – named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century – will be announced on live on ESPN on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thurs., Dec. 8. For the second straight year, the show will air from the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 11, 2017, in Omaha, Neb. This year, Oklahoma’s Greg Roberts, the 1978 Outland Trophy winner, will be honored and presented an Outland Trophy, which was not given in the era in which he won the award. In addition, former Oklahoma coach Barry Switzer, will receive the Tom Osborne Legacy Award at the same banquet.

The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast over 722 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

Southern California three-peats, wins 2023 NC Beach Volleyball national championship

USC beach volleyball took down UCLA, 3-2, to capture its third straight NCAA championship.

Colleges with the most overall No. 1 picks in NFL draft history

These are the colleges with the most No. 1 overall picks in the NFL Draft since it began in 1936, led by Georgia Notre Dame, Oklahoma and USC with five each.

Jordan Addison: College football career, stats, highlights, records

Here's a quick guide to wide receiver Jordan Addison's college career at USC and Pitt.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners