football-fbs flag

Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation Release | July 13, 2016

2016 Biletnikoff Award releases watch list for top receiver

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, has released the 2016 Biletnikoff Award Pre-Season Watch List. The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver, not merely outstanding wide receiver.

The award recipient is selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Foundation trustees do not vote and have never voted.

Receivers are periodically added to the watch list as their season performances dictate. Actual, not potential, performance is the basis for inclusion on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.

The 2016 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on Dec. 8, 2016, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast 7:00 - 9:00pm (EST) on ESPN. College Football Hall of Famer and Heisman Trophy winner Desmond Howard will present the 2016 Biletnikoff Award winner on the show. Howard is one of only five ends or receivers who has won the Heisman Trophy, joining Larry Kelley, Leon Hart, Johnny Rodgers, and Tim Brown.

MORE: Check here for full preseason watch lists

The correlation between Biletnikoff Award winners and stardom in the National Football League is uncannily predictable. Past Biletnikoff Award winners include Calvin Johnson, Randy Moss, Michael Crabtree, and Larry Fitzgerald.
The 2016 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented his trophy before 550 patrons at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, Feb. 18, 2017.

Rodney Adams University of South Florida SR.
Chance Allen University of Houston SR.
Marcell Ateman Oklahoma State University SR.
Josh Atkinson University of Tulsa RSR.
Devonte Boyd University of Nevada, Las Vegas JR.
KD Cannon Baylor University JR.
Jehu Chesson University of Michigan SR.
Simmie Cobbs Jr. Indiana University JR.
Corey Davis Western Michigan University SR.
Robert Davis Georgia State University SR.
Gehrig Dieter University of Alabama RSR.
Malachi Dupre Louisiana State University JR.
Isaiah Ford Virginia Tech JR.
Shelton Gibson West Virginia University RJR.
Chris Godwin Pennsylvania State University JR.
Kenny Golladay Northern Illinois University RSR.
Penny Hart Georgia State University SO.
Carlos Henderson Louisiana Tech University RSO.
Hasaan Henderson University of Nevada SR.
Mack Hollins University of North Carolina SR.
Richie James Middle Tennessee State University RSO.
Isaiah Jones East Carolina University SR.
Ricky Jones Indiana University RSR.
Christian Kirk Texas A&M University SO.
Jesse Kroll Central Michigan University SR
Jerome Lane University of Akron JR.
Allen Lazard Iowa State University JR.
KeVonn Mabon Ball State University SR.
Gabe Marks Washington State University RSR.
Taquan Mizzell University of Virginia SR.
Ronnie Moore Bowling Green State University SR.
Drew Morgan University of Arkansas SR.
Nicholas Norris Western Kentucky University SR.
Zach Pascal Old Dominion University SR.
Brandon Reilly University of Nebraska SR.
Josh Reynolds Texas A&M University SR.
Jerico Richardson University of Nevada SR.
Calvin Ridley University of Alabama SO.
Fred Ross Mississippi State University SR.
Travis Rudolph Florida State University JR.
Artavis Scott Clemson University SO.
Sebastian Smith Ohio University SR.
JuJu Smith-Schuster University of Southern California JR.
Thomas Sperbeck Boise State University SR.
Courtland Sutton Southern Methodist University SO.
Taywan Taylor Western Kentucky University SR.
Trent Taylor Louisiana Tech University JR.
Cody Thompson University of Toledo JR.
DJ Thompson University of Southern Mississippi RSR.
James Washington Oklahoma State University JR.
Jordan Westerkamp University of Nebraska SR.
Kermit Whitfield Florida State University SR.
Mike Williams Clemson University RJR.

The banquet has featured distinguished keynoters of profound character and accomplishments including Bart Starr, Dick Vermeil, Larry Csonka, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, Don Shula, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning, Ron Jaworski, Gene Stallings, Bill Curry, Jim Kelly, Jerry Kramer, Joe Theismann, and Dan Fouts.

The banquet also recognizes the Foundation's scholarship recipients who will be offered by the Foundation over $800,000 in college and vocational scholarships and related benefits in 2017 alone, as in 2015 and 2016. The Foundation's charitable mission is the provision of college and vocational scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extra-curricular levels.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 14, 2016, following the vote by the members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 22, 2016. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and timely, important news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, as well as a fan vote and discussion board, please consult the Foundation's highly informative website at
The transparently detailed and explicit criteria for candidate eligibility and voting appear at:
The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-America receiver at Florida State University, and an All-Pro receiver for the Oakland Raiders. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI. The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation (TQC), Inc., created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994.


FCS prospects to know for the 2023 NFL draft

The 2023 NFL draft is approaching and plenty of FCS players could hear their names called. Here's a look at some of the top prospects.

The top HBCU football prospects in the 2023 NFL draft

It's time to see who could be the next HBCU prospects to land at the next level. Let's take a look at the top HBCU prospects in the 2023 cycle.

Breaking down the 2023 HBCU Legacy Bowl rosters, how to watch and more

Here's a breakdown of the 2023 HBCU Legacy Bowl rosters, by position, conference and more.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners