football-fbs flag

The Wuerffel Trophy | July 13, 2016

College football: Wuerffel Trophy unveils record 2016 watch list

FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. — The Wuerffel Trophy announced its watch list today of a record 88 players from college football’s Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach Florida.  Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

The Atlantic Coast Conference led all conferences with 15 players appearing on the 2016 watch list. Following the ACC are the SEC with 12 players, Conference USA with 10 and the Big 10 and Big 12 with 9 players each. The American Athletic followed with 8 players while the Sun Belt added 7, the PAC 12 submitted 6 and the MAC and Mountain West followed with 4 each. All FBS Conferences are represented on the list, as were Independent representatives BYU and United States Military Academy (Army) with 1 nominee each.

MORE: Check here for full preseason watch lists

Voting for the Wuerffel Trophy is performed by a National Selection Committee that includes college football television and print media, industry notables, former head coaches and prior Wuerffel Trophy recipients.

Nominations for the Wuerffel Trophy are made by the respective universities’ Sports Information departments and will close on Oct. 14.  A current list of nominees can be found at beginning Aug. 1.  Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 3 and finalists will be announced on Nov. 23.

The formal announcement of the 2016 recipient will be on Dec. 6 at the National Football Foundation’s press conference in New York City.

The presentation of the 2016 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 48th Annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet on Feb. 10, 2017 in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.

Past winners of the Wuerffel Trophy are:  Rudy Niswanger (LSU-2005), Joel Penton (Ohio State-2006), Paul Smith (Tulsa-2007), Tim Tebow (Florida-2008), Tim Hiller (W. Michigan-2009), Sam Acho (Texas-2010), Barrett Jones (Alabama-2011), Matt Barkley (USC-2012), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma-2013), Deterrian Shackelford (Ole Miss-2014) and Ty Darlington (Oklahoma-2015).

Player School Year Position
JK Scott Alabama Junior P
O.J. Howard Alabama Senior TE
Darian Small Appalachian State Senior DL
Vilami “Laiu” Moeakiola Arizona State Senior LB
Brooks Ellis Arkansas Senior LB
Blaise Taylor Arkansas State Junior DB
Andrew King Army Senior LB
Daniel Carlson Auburn Junior PK
Seth Russell Baylor Senior QB
Mitchell Juergens BYU Senior WR
Jonny Linehan BYU Senior P
Jack Austin California Junior WR
Jamal Covington Charlotte Senior OL
Deshaun Watson Clemson Junior QB
Sefo Liufau Colorado Senior QB
Zack Golditch Colorado State Junior OL
DeVon Edwards Duke Senior DB
Zay Jones East Carolina Senior WR
Jarrad Davis Florida Senior LB
Shalom Ogbonda Florida Atlantic Senior DL
Michael Montero Florida International Senior OL
Alec Eberle Florida State Sophomore OL
Jeb Blazevich Georgia Junior TE
Keith Rucker Georgia State Senior TE
KeShun Freeman Georgia Tech Junior DE
Greg Ward, Jr. Houston Senior QB
Joe Spencer Illinois Senior OL
Mitchell Paige Indiana Senior WR
LeShun Daniels, Jr. Iowa Senior RB
Cole Netten Iowa State Senior PK
Fish Smithson Kansas Senior DB
Dante Barnett Kansas State Senior DB
Antwan Dixon Kent State Sophomore WR
Nick Cuthbert Kent State Senior LB
Karmichael Dunbar Louisiana Senior DL
Brandon Radcliff Louisville Senior RB
Colin Jeter LSU Senior TE
William Likely Maryland Senior DB
Ryan Yurachek Marshall Sophomore TE
Jake Elliott Memphis Senior PK
Brad Kaaya Miami Junior QB
Josiah Price Michigan State Senior TE
Brent Stockstill Middle Tennessee Sophomore QB
Damarius Travis Minnesota Senior DB
Evan Ingram Mississippi Senior TE
Brandon Holloway Mississippi State Senior WR/RB
Drew Brown Nebraska Junior PK
Jeremy Maculey Nevada Senior OL
Nick Weller North Carolina Senior PK
Tony Adams North Carolina State Junior OL
Drew Hare Northern Illinois Senior QB
Matthew Harris Northwestern Senior DB
Jarrod Barnes Ohio State Senior DB
Samaje Perine Oklahoma Junior RB
Mason Rudolph Oklahoma State Junior QB
Tyler Compton Old Dominion Senior OL
Ryan Nall Oregon State Sophomore RB
Adam Biniswaty Pittsburgh Senior OL
James Conner Pittsburgh Junior RB
Mike Caprara Pittsburgh Senior LB
Darik Dillard Rice Senior RB
Daniel Brunskill San Diego State Senior TE
Tim Crawley San Jose State Senior WR
Nick Mullins Southern Mississippi Senior QB
Jason Emerich Syracuse Senior OL
Aaron Curry TCU Senior DL
Brendan McGowan Temple Senior OL
Joshua Dobbs Tennessee Senior QB
Trevor Knight Texas A&M Senior QB
Felix Romero Texas State Junior OL
Patrick Mahomes, II Texas Tech Junior QB
Brad Spelman Toledo Junior LS
John Johnson Troy Junior WR
Marshall Wadleigh Tulane Senior TE
Dane Evans Tulsa Senior QB
Justin Holman UCF Senior QB
Bobby Puyol UConn Senior PK
John Plattenburg USC Junior DB
Travis Seefeldt Utah State Senior DL
Oren Burks Vanderbilt Junior LB
Matt Johns Virginia Senior QB
Sam Rogers Virginia Tech Senior RB
Ryan Janvion Wake Forest Senior DB
Jeff Lindquist Washington Senior TE
Skyler Howard West Virginia Senior QB
Forrest Lamp Western Kentucky Senior OL
Marcus Ward Western Kentucky Senior DB
Zach Terrell Western Michigan Senior QB

College football teams with the most national championships

These are the college football teams with the most national championships since 1869.

How the AP preseason football poll predicts the College Football Playoff

Here's how the preseason AP poll correlates to the final College Football Playoff poll in the CFP era.

Top HBCU football players at every position entering 2022

Before the 2022 HBCU football season begins on August 27, let’s take a look at the top FCS players at each position entering the year.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners