football-fbs flag

Doak Walker Award | July 14, 2016

2016 Doak Walker Award candidates revealed

DALLAS - The PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced today the preseason candidates for the 2016 Doak Walker Award. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top college running back.

Juniors Leonard Fournette of LSU and Christian McCaffrey of Stanford headline the 2016 candidate list after both were Doak Walker Award finalists a year ago. Fournette led the NCAA at 162.8 yards per game last year, while McCaffrey was the nation’s leader in all-purpose yardage (276.0 YPG). Six of the 11 semifinalists for the 2015 Doak Walker Award appear on the 2016 watch list.

MORE: Check here for full preseason watch lists

Nominations for the award will be accepted through October. The complete list of candidates, who were nominated by their universities, follows:

Josh Adams Notre Dame So.
Saquon Barkley Penn State So.
Jamauri Bogan Western Michigan So.
Joel Bouagnon Northern Illinois Sr.
Matt Breida Georgia Southern Sr.
Shannon Brooks Minnesota So.
Algernon Brown BYU Sr.
James Butler Nevada Jr.
Nick Chubb Georgia Jr.
Jordan Chunn Troy Jr.
Corey Clement Wisconsin Sr.
James Conner Pittsburgh Jr.
Dalvin Cook Florida State Jr.
Marcus Cox Appalachian State Sr.
LeShun Daniels Iowa Sr.
Justin Davis USC Sr.
Matthew Dayes NC State Sr.
Jela Duncan Duke Sr.
D’Andre Ferby Western Kentucky So.
Tarean Folston Notre Dame Sr.
D’Onta Foreman Texas Jr.
Leonard Fournette LSU Jr.
Jarvion Franklin Western Michigan Jr.
Royce Freeman Oregon Jr.
Wayne Gallman Clemson Jr.
Myles Gaskin Washington So.
Damien Harris Alabama So.
Paul Harris Hwaii Sr.
Kyle Hicks TCU Jr.
Brian Hill Wynoming Jr.
Dontrell Hilliard Tulane Jr.
Brandon Holloway Mississippi State SR.
Elijah Hood North Carolina Jr.
Jalen Hurd Tennessee Jr.
Johnny Jefferson Baylor Jr.
Aaron Jones UTEP Jr.
Charles Jones Kansas State Sr.
Markell Jones Purdue So.
Ronald Jones II USC So.
Xavier Jones SMU So.
Alvin Kamara Tennessee Jr.
Ray Lawry Old Dominion Jr.
Phillip Lindsay Colorado So.
Shock Linwood Baylor Sr.
Marlon Mack South Florida Jr.
Devante Mays Utah State Sr.
Christian McCaffrey Stanford Jr.
Elijah McGuire UL-Lafayette Sr.
Sony Michel Georgia Jr.
Taquan Mizzell Virginia Sr.
Khalfani Muhammad Cal Sr.
Terrell Newby Nebraska Sr.
Arkeel Newsome Connecticut Jr.
Jacobi Owens Air Force Sr.
Samaje Perine Oklahoma Jr.
Donnel Pumphrey SDSU Sr.
Devine Redding Indiana Jr.
Larry Rose III New Mexico State Jr.
Bo Scarbrough Alabama So.
De’Veon Smith Michigan Sr.
Justin Stockton Texas Tech Jr.
Shaq Vann Eastern Michigan So.
Ke’Shawn Vaughn Illinois So.
Anthony Wales Western Kentucky Sr.
Kody Walker Arkansas Sr.
Warren Wand Arkansas State So.
Chris Warren III Texas So.
Mike Warren Iowa State Jr.
Tre Watson Cal Jr.
Ralph Webb Vanderbilt Jr.
David Williams South Carolina Jr.
Jamaal Williams BYU Sr.
Rawleigh Williams III Arkansas So.
Stanley Williams Kentucky Jr.
Nick Wilson Arizona Jr.
Shaun Wilson Duke Jr.
Marquis Young Massachusetts So.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name ten semifinalists on Nov. 16, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the three finalists, who will be announced on November 22. The committee will cast a second vote beginning November 28 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2016 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 8, on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas in early 2017. The award, which will name its 27th recipient in 2016, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

2023 Georgia football schedule: Dates, times, TV channels, scores

The complete 2023 Georgia football schedule, updated each week with results, TV networks and times.

Kentucky, Louisville enter AP Top 25 after big weekend for Bluegrass State

Another big weekend for the Bluegrass State was finally rewarded by the AP voters, as undefeated Kentucky and Louisville slot into the rankings. Check out all the movement in Sunday's AP Poll here.

College football: TV schedule and game times

An updated college football TV schedule for the 2023 season, including weekly results and links to live scoring.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners